Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Rich or wealthy?

I was taught there are only two ways to become  rich  wealthy.

Earn more or spend less.

I wish!

I wish!

I’d much rather be wealthy than rich.  There is a very big difference between being rich and being wealthy ya know.  How’s that?  My thinking is that the rich people are people who have lots of money and feel it’s their “right” to hurt others because of that money.  Rich people flaunt their money at the working class and especially at the poor.  Rich people often have reality shows about themselves and feature the mean and cruel stuff they do to working class people.  Feelings get hurt and the rich people laugh.  I seriously don’t like reality shows.

Wealthy people are far, far different.  Wealthy people are just like your friendly neighbors.  Wealthy people tend to keep their money a secret.  They have money but prefer to use it in ways that help others instead of hurt them.  Wealthy people could be your own relatives but you’d never know because they don’t show or flaunt it or brag.

I’ve never had much money.  I wouldn’t have a clue how to live if I had as much money as the wealthy have.  I was born to  below poverty level parents and now I’m a low income senior.  My whole life has been lived below the poverty line.  Hmm…. except a few years when my quilting skill was very popular.  At that time I had more customers than I knew what to do with.  But, that popularity also meant loosing time with my family just to satisfy the wants of the customers.  One day I realized I had been much happier before the quilting income.   So I semi-retired and went back to living a life below the income poverty line.

This blog is about the ways I’m coping with my income loss.   Reading my blog you may be amazed or you may be grossed out.  Seniors can get away with just about anything.  Just ask Betty White, she’ll tell ya.  Join me as I feed the pig, one penny at a time.

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2013 by in PINCHING PENNIES.

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
