Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Using new canner

Not long ago I posted about my new pressure canner.  I can’t call it new anymore because I’ve been using it alot.  Aren’t these pretty sweet potatoes?

Sweet potatoes

Sweet potatoes

My pressure canner is a small one because that’s all I need.  I could do quarts in it but I prefer food in pints.  I call them senior size.   For me its the size for one person with left overs for another meal.  A pint is also about the size of a store bought can food.  Those are green beans we got from the mobile food bank and I canned mine in the pressure canner.

FOODS 2013 141

I hadn’t intended to do much canning over the last few weeks but circumstances changed.  One of my neighbors has convinced me to teach her how to can the foods we get from the mobile food bank.

She’s a good student.  She had me to go with her to pick out jars and other canning equipment.  She bought a water bath canner and other items she’ll need to get started when she’s ready to work on her own.  I bought her the Ball blue book canning guide.  Now she has the same dilemma as me.  No place to store the jars of food.  Not only is she interested in the canning but she’s always asking about other ways I save money.

Over the last couple of weeks we have canned apples,

FOODS 2013 022

and canned more apples.

FOODS 2013 024

We’ve made orange juice syrup.  Ok, it was supposed to be orange juice jelly but we didn’t use enough pectin so it made syrup instead.  It’s great on pancakes.

FOODS 2013 012

The neighborhood people sometimes call me “the ghetto Martha Stewart” in a fun teasing sort of way.  I keep saying, if we must ask for help with food then the least we can do is use as much of it as possible.  Everyone agrees we don’t want to waste food.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 240,682 Hits
