Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Whipping cream butter

This week at the mobile food bank we were given a half gallon of heavy whipping cream.  It was one day past the sell by date.  Everyone was asking “What do we do with this?”  Not many in a poverty area know how to use whipping cream.  Aww heck, not many young people today, regardless of where they live, know how to use it either.  Young people today aren’t learning the old cooking skills.

I have lots of ideas to use the whipping cream but without a refrigerator I can’t store it.  I still have a working freezer so I must make use of that for storing my foods until I get a working fridge.  The cream can’t be frozen because it will separate.  I could use the frozen cream in cooking but not for whipping.  I decided to make butter.  I really need butter right now because when my fridge died I lost what I had.

Here’s what I got on Tuesday.  One half gallon of heavy whipping cream. Here you see the first batch of butter made from that half gallon.  It’s 40% milk fat so it makes a lot of butter and it’s so rich it clumped up.  I used only half the container to get that much butter.

FOODS 2013 129

 

I washed it several times and now I need a way to store it.  Since it must be frozen I don’t think freezing it in large containers will be good.  Thawing to use, freezing, thawing, freezing again is not good.    I look through my storage container stash and find these little things.  I have several packages of these that I had bought for another project.

FOODS 2013 130

I checked and each one will hold about 1/4.  That would be just the right size for thawing one at a time for whatever my need.  These are one dollar a pack at most any dollar type store.  There are several brands.

Washing is next.  Gosh that’s a lot of little containers.  Ok, any new container must be washed before using. You never know what type of creature might have walked across the plastic before it’s packaged.

FOODS 2013 131

I finish making the butter and put it into the containers.

FOODS 2013 133I get a yield of 16 quarter cup containers and 4 one cup containers of buttermilk.   The buttermilk can be thawed to use for cooking.  Mmmm…… I think a batch of buttermilk biscuits will go very nicely with a fresh batch of butter don’t you?  Fresh biscuits with fresh butter and fresh buttermilk to drink.  Delicious.

The next day a neighbor brings me two more containers of the whipping cream.  I make more butter.

FOODS 2013 135

And the following day I’m given another three containers.

FOODS 2013 136

I’m thoroughly set on butter for quite awhile.   I’ll share the butter with the neighbors who gave me their whipping cream.  I’m hoping the little fridge I’m getting from a friend will be brought today.

One comment on “Whipping cream butter

  1. Barbara
    August 26, 2015

    Very resourceful of you and it looks delicious!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2013 by in DIABETES AND FOOD BANKS and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,268 Hits
