Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Plums in June

We got plums from the mobile food bank this week.  The people standing in line to get the food believe the plums must be eaten as fresh.  Plums are prunes that haven’t become prunes yet.  You know what prunes will do to your system don’t you?  No?  Well prunes or plums are a natural laxative.

So there are only so many plums a person should eat at one time.  No way am I gonna eat this many plums by myself before they go bad.  I plan to make plum jelly to preserve these.   You remember the line from Mary Poppins that says a spoonful of sugar makes the medicine go down?  Well I guess if a person really needs a laxative it might as well be all natural and sweet.  Right?

FOODS 2013 127

So I started cutting these into chunks to make juice when there is a knock on the door.  A neighbor has brought me more plums.  Geeze this is gonna make a lot of plum jelly.

FOODS 2013 137

The canning went well.  It took most of the day but I got 23 half pints of jelly.

FOODS 2013 138

Isn’t that a really pretty burgundy color?  I made 10 jars with light sugar and 13 jars with regular sugar.

FOODS 2013 139

So let me tell ya;  it’s for sure I’m not gonna eat all this by myself.  That’s way too many prunes plums for one old lady to consume all by herself.  I gave a couple of jars to a couple of the neighbors already.  Neither knew what to do with the jelly except as a bread spread.  Well use it as a glaze for meat.  A roast, a chicken, add it to barbecue sauce, or even a glaze for veggies.  I did caution them to eat only a minimal amount at a time and the reason why.  I didn’t use the word laxative because that turns people off.  No one wants to hear about spreading a sweet laxative on their food.  Geeze it would turn me off too if I’d never heard of it before.

One neighbor asked why didn’t I just make prunes in my dehydrator?  This is the reason.  I did an experiment on a few to see if I could make my own prunes.  I like stewed prunes every now and then.

FOODS 2013 134

I cut a line around the middle of these to hasten the drying time because I couldn’t get the pit out.  It was just an experiment so it didn’t matter.  That was after 48 hours of dehydration and they are still not done.  I don’t think several days worth of electricity would be cost effective to make a few prunes.  If I had an attic space or some other place that gets natural summer heat then I could make prunes that were cost effective.  Since I don’t then I can’t.  I will continue to buy from the store.

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2013 by in DIABETES AND FOOD BANKS.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
