Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Mulberry Jelly

YUM

The canning is happening fast around here.  I have so many things coming my way that I often don’t know which to do first.  I just know that something will get canned everyday.  Today it was mulberry jelly.  I made 12 half pint jars and 4 jars were taken before they cooled off.  One person even borrowed a dishtowel to carry hers because the jars were still hot.  I guess those are a big hit with everyone.  The color is so dark and rich looking.  I had a little left over after filling all the jars.  I let the neighbors have a taste of it.  Obviously it tasted great, which is why so many jars left before cooling completely.

June 2013 027

The cherries are ripening very fast on the backyard tree.  I’ll need to start picking those tomorrow and put into the freezer until I can make cherry pie filling.  There are still lots of mulberries on the bushes too.  A neighbor gave me several summer squash (yellow ones) and I think I want to make pickles from them.  IF there is time.  I had intended to can some chicken stock today.  I got the chicken bones and skins boiled but didn’t quite get around to bottling up the liquid.  I was called away to see about my mother at the nursing home.  She was refusing to be cleaned and she really needed it.   It took awhile but I convinced her to get a bath.  I bribed her with some cookies.  She didn’t know they were sugar free.

After Mom had her bath I sat with her while she ate the cookies.  When I told her that I’d been very busy canning she perked up and asked if I was going to make pepper jelly too.  Then she starts telling me about how many times she had helped her Mama can stuff.  Then she tells me stories about her pet mule that was called Julie.  Mom can’t remember stuff from five minutes ago but her memories of her childhood are still in tact.  For now.

Ok, time to get back to the kitchen for awhile before bedtime.

4 comments on “Mulberry Jelly

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody
    February 27, 2015

    By the way canning and pickling is almost a lost art, I think you should see about teaching others about all this stuff!

    • Na Na
      February 28, 2015

      I have. I was teaching my neighbors until they started letting me do all the work and go to all the expense while they enjoyed the benefits. They had become dependant on me in the same way they depend on the government to provide for them. I asked a few community centers and churches but no one is interested in me teaching it. Only like minded people are interested in learning. My blog is the way I reach those like minded souls.

  2. Deb Weyrich-Cody
    February 27, 2015

    So, did you? Make some red pepper jelly, I mean? One of my favourite condiments and you can make it hot (or not) plus, you can use the leftover pulp to make red pepper/tomato soup: )

    • Na Na
      February 28, 2015

      Yes, but not right away.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2013 by in DIABETES AND FOOD BANKS.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
