Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Modern day rationing

I’m not a Catholic so I rarely listen to the Pope.  But I know a few people who are Catholic.  One of them sent me the link to this article quoting something the Pope said and the article put into words what I wish I had said myself.  He said exactly what I have thought for a very long time.

The Argentinian-born pontiff warned that too much focus on money and materialism meant financial market dips were viewed as tragedies while human suffering had become normal and ignored.

“In this way people are discarded as if they were garbage,” he said.

In other words; money is more important to people.  Here is the link to the full article.  The Pope said

It seems I read or hear more and more quotes about food shortages these days.  These sayings are very similar to phrases people read or heard back in the days before the start of global food rationing.  That time was during and after WW2.  (1939 – 1954) There was a smaller version of rationing during and after WW1 too but it was a much smaller item shortage list.

Second harvest carrots from Dare to Care mobile food bank

Second harvest carrots from Dare to Care mobile food bank

Here is another quoted article from the Associated Press about the start of food rationing this very month.  Not way back in years gone by,  but right now in June 2013.  Ok, here is another article about the same rationing.

I don’t know about you but when I read news articles like those it worries me a little.  Will my budget handle the higher prices of rationing?  I do hope it will.  I remember some of our life with WW2 rationing even though I was very young.  My family had few material possessions and we were happy anyway.  Life was less hectic and less stressful because we needed fewer things back then.  Rationing did not mean none to be had, it meant less was available.

Here is another news article about food that is a similar type article but this one is about Britain.  Here is another article about Britain.  I never thought of Britain as a third world country, have you?  If it could happen in Britain it can happen in the USA, Canada, Australia,  Japan, or any country.

Second harvest potatoes

Second harvest potatoes

Major disaster after major disaster is happening all around the world.  Tornadoes, floods, fires, drought, volcanoes, hurricanes, war,  and other disasters mean that crops are being destroyed.  Not all the crops but a big portion of them.  Which means less to be sold to food processing plants.  Then there are the tainted foods that mean recalls of whole batches of food.  I won’t go into that now.  Just remember it happens too.

Do I believe we should start hoarding food?  NO.  Should we hoard other items?  NO.  What would we hoard and how much?  Can anyone truly predict the future?  Tell me which items will be rationed and for how long.  Ok, yes, there might be shortages but not a global disappearance of all food.  There is way too much food sent to landfills for there to be a world wide food shortage these days.  I don’t mean just the USA.  Other countries  throw away lots of food too.

FOODS 2013 008

Second harvest potatoes, sweet potatoes, and onions

What I believe is that we should stop depending on the stores to be our pantry and start keeping our pantry at home.  This just makes economic sense.  Since the beginning of time, humans and animals, have put away food in abundant times to help live through the lean times.  Every home should have some sort of food pantry storage.  It could be under a bed or in a stand alone closet or even in the bathtub of a spare bathroom.  It needs to be a place where at least a little extra food is stored for the leaner times.

I want to write more but it’s time for me to get into the studio.   I will continue  in another post.

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2013 by in JUST THINKING, PINCHING PENNIES.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,310 Hits
