Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Short sizing tricks

I believe by now almost everyone has become aware how beef has become very expensive.   Partly due to the drought of last year and partly because a lot of it is being shipped to other countries.   Anyway, I was in the grocery a few weeks ago when I came across a really good bargain on expensive beef roasts.  This was about $120 worth of Angus beef tip roasts (about $30 each) that I bought for less than half price.  I bought them on the day of the sell by date and got all four for $58.  In this photo they are flash frozen and ready for long term freezer packaging.

FOODS 2013 152

I really shouldn’t have spent that much money from my budget for four items.  Why did I do it?  Well, at that time, everyone I knew was sure feeling tired of eating chicken everyday.  Beef was way too expensive and we were all eating mostly chicken which is more affordable.  I hid the roasts away from sight in the back of my freezer and did something I remembered from my childhood.  I gave the roasts as birthday presents.  There were four birthdays in one month.  It felt strange to be giving a package of meat as a birthday gift but that’s what we did when I was  young and rationing was still happening.  The gift of a beef roast was a big hit with everyone who received one.   Bummer, I didn’t keep one for myself.

A couple of days ago I found a roast just for me.  An Angus London broil that was marked down to $9.23 from the original price of $18.49 for three pounds.   No, I really shouldn’t have bought it at that price even if it was marked down.  But don’t I deserve something special once in awhile?  I decided to cut it in half and use only half for now and the other half at another time.

Discount label from beef roast

Discount label from beef roast

Hmm…..  Do you know what the cut marks on this London broil roast are all about?  I know but I’m asking if you’ve seen them too.   Notice the ruler?  The roast measures at about 10″.

FOODS 2013 153

Now look at the same roast but imagine it as if  the cut marks were on the underneath side.  I could have taken a photo that way but I thought this way was more of a visual of how the cut marks are used.  Aww geeze, another form of short-sizing.  The roast grew quite a bit.  It’s now over 12″.

FOODS 2013 154

By cutting the meat and pulling it a little you can stretch a roast to make it appear larger than it really is.  Hmm… the person who thought of this trick must be a sewer because sewers know about putting small clips in a seam line to allow it to stretch.  This clever short-sizing on beef has probably been going on for quite awhile and I didn’t know about it because I haven’t bought or cooked beef in a long time.

Information

This entry was posted on June 23, 2013 by in PINCHING PENNIES, SHORT SIZING TRICKS.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
