Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Blue berry pies in jars

I spent a good deal of time yesterday canning pie filling from the blueberries we got about three weeks ago from the mobile food bank.  I made 8 jars of it from two of the packages.  My neighbors gave me their blue berries too.  I have several more packages in the freezer.  Each quart jar is enough for one pie so that’s eight pies for the future.

Blueberry pie filling

Blueberry pie filling

Aren’t they pretty?  Ok, I like them because I did them myself.  The neighbors will sure like these when they eat a blueberry pie in the winter.   Hmm, maybe as a first day of school celebration this fall?  Any excuse is good for a piece of pie.  I’ll have to remember to make some ice cream too.

Day before yesterday I canned peas and carrots I had bought on my last shopping trip.  I have a very hard time passing up a good food discount item.  No, they are not organic grown but at least I know what went into the jars.  I blanched and froze these until I could get them processed.  Now there is a little more room in the freezer.

Peas and carrots from the discount bin

Peas and carrots from the discount bin

I’ve been processing some type of food almost every day.  The neighbors often give me some of the food they get from the mobile food bank because no one knows what to do with it.  I can it or freeze it or cook it or something which later gets shared.

I have to tell you a little story so you understand what it’s like in my neighborhood.  I saw one of the neighbor kids outside.  She looked to be about 4 or 5 and often seen carrying a baby on her hip.  This family has only lived here for a couple of weeks.  Some of us were coming back after getting food from the mobile food bank around the corner.  The girl was curious about what we had on top of the bag.  I told her it was bananas and offered her one.  The child didn’t know how to eat it.  She had never had one before.  I peeled it, broke off a piece, and ate it so she could see that it wasn’t poison.  The look on her face when she got up the courage to taste it was so precious.  I’m going to be sure she gets a banana often.  I may even make banana pudding so she can taste it too.

FOODS 2013 248

That is the Food bank food from this week.  The amount is smaller because of the holiday.  Yup, that is green bananas.  We were given one yellow and two green ones each.  The yellow one was what I gave that child but I also explained bananas are better when a pretty yellow color.  Someone has donated stuff other than just produce to the mobile food bank.  Items other than food are very rare.

FOODS 2013 247

Home made soap?  Not sure.  It’s an unmarked soap of some kind.  Smells great.  We got toilet tissue, puffs, a scrubbie, dental floss, and tooth paste.  There was bleach given out too if a person guessed which hand a nickle was in.  I passed on that because I don’t use bleach.  Not enough bleach to go around anyway.  My neighbors each got a gallon by guessing right.   We also got potatoes, a few plumbs, and onions.  I took all the extra the neighbors didn’t want.  I have a plan for some of these IF, yes IF, I can clear out the freezer a bit to make room.  How does frozen onion rings sound?

Second harvest onions

Second harvest onions

Thank goodness these can set for a bit while I deal with the other foods.  I’m thinking I should make a pepper jam with the little peppers we were given?  I have a bunch of peppers in the freezer too.  I have enough apples to make apple pie filling or maybe just plain canned apples?  Hmm… maybe I should work on simply canning as much as possible from the freezer in order to make room for newer stuff?  That decision can wait a day because my SIL is coming over to work on her quilt today.  Today is a fabric play day.

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2013 by in DIABETES AND FOOD BANKS.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
