Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Food storage

I share food with my neighbors and family when there is a need.  I’m good at finding bargains and I don’t mind helping someone by giving them some of the bargains I find.  I have a very big problem with storage.  I really need to know what I have and how much of it so I can make up a care package when needed.   Hmm… just what do I have and how much of it?  Can you tell from this?  Neither can I.

FOODS 2013 123

Food in storage

How about from this?  Could you put together a food package by just looking?  Maybe, but it would take a good bit of time shuffling stuff around.

FOODS 2013 122

More food in storage

I knew it was time for me to get it organized!  So I took time to get the area to look more like this.  See the new shelves that were a nightmare to put together?  Just these two really helped to organize.  Crappy or not, I want more of these.

FOODS 2013 174

New food storage shelves

And this.  That is a cardboard cabinet I started a long time ago and never finished it.  It’s just right for storing lots of rice, beans, pasta, and other bagged foods.  The boxes holding food will eventually become drawers with decorative fronts.  All made from throw away boxes.

FOODS 2013 177

Cardboard cabinet storing more food

Here is another area of food.  I want to buy more shelves even though I was so frustrated putting them together that I wanted to throw those first two into a recycle bin.

FOODS 2013 176

Food waiting for more shelves

I have even more food in here.  Does anyone believe I need more food? See why it’s so easy for me to share when there is a need?

FOODS 2013 143

Even more food waiting shelves

I believe the canned goods are multiplying themselves when I’m not looking.  My next step will be to do an inventory. I plan to write a post to show you how I’ll be keeping track of what items I have, how many, when I got it, how it’s all rotated, and let the person in need choose their own food package instead of me choosing for them.  Thankfully this room looks a little more presentable now.  Ladybug can actually set in “her” room again.

FOODS 2013 182

Now there is room for Ladybug to set in what she calls “her” room

She remembers it as her room from when she and Mommie stayed here while waiting to buy a house of their own.  I don’t have a basement or a garage or an attic or even a shed for storing stuff.  At the moment I don’t have closet space either.  Eventually this room will become a walk in pantry or maybe a hugh closet to be used for storing STUFF.

Umm, maybe not.  I’m not sure I want to keep storing STUFF.  But that’s future posts.

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2013 by in ORGANIZE.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
