Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Cantaloupe pickles

I’m pretty good at finding food bargains.  I keep a grocery list of items I need to purchase which is a guide for me when I’m searching the discount bins.  Some items are always “grab now” items because I use it all the time.  Here’s an example of last week’s haul.  The bread flour at one dollar a bag was a great find.  The loaf of bread is very close in flavor and texture of homemade bread so I bought it too.  If the rumors of a pork shortage from a pig virus is true, I’ll probably be very glad I found those sausage bargains.  Hmm, actually a batch of dirty rice sounds pretty good right now.

Discount bin finds

Discount bin finds

The store had a couple of cantaloupes in the discount bin.  I paid one dollar for both.  Only a little bad spot on each.  I decided to make good use of them.  I made cantaloupe pickles.  These have a sweet sour taste sort of like bread and butter pickles only sweeter because of the sweetness of the cantaloupe.

I used an old Amish recipe from a book I’ve had for a number of years.  It’s a very easy recipe.  While I had all the equipment out I made bread and butter pickles from the cucumbers we got from the mobile food pantry this week.  I ended up with 13 pint jars of cantaloupe pickles and 11 pints of bread and butter pickles.

FOODS 2013 280

Everything is still very hot.  I hear “ping” and I smile.  Canning people just love the sound of pings.  The cantaloupe will be great in a sweet sour stir fry.  Hmm, I’m thinking maybe I can find some other fruit in the discount bin to pickle too.  Peaches or pineapple?  Well, today is monthly grocery day for my SIL.  I’m the chauffeur, she owns the car.  It works out for both of us.  And so I end this post and get going.  Many discount bins await me.  No telling what bargains I’ll find on my rounds today.

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2013 by in DIABETES AND FOOD BANKS and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
