Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

More canning

Have you gotten sticker shock lately?  Every time I enter a store I get a new sticker shock.  Not only that but I’ve also notice many empty shelves where product used to set.  Is there something going on I’ve not been aware of?  I’m still getting lots of produce to be canned.  The neighbors have pretty much quit canning.  They still have not “got it” about the reason for home canning.

I’ve made Monkey butter for the Ladybug.  For those who don’t know, it’s a jam made from bananas.  Delicious!

FOODS 2013 281I found a bargain on mushrooms.  I wanted to buy more but I didn’t have enough money.

FOODS 2013 282I got 14 half pints from those 6 containers.  I use lots of mushrooms.

FOODS 2013 283I also canned some peaches that were a gift from a friend.  She gave me 10 peaches.  I was so tempted to just eat them all as they were because they were delicious.  But I used my will power to eat only one and canned the rest.  I’m soo hoping the mobile food bank will have some peaches good enough for canning.  AND that I’ll get plenty.

Then I canned some tomatoes for my SIL.   My brother has a very small garden spot in the back yard.  A couple of tomato plants and some radishes and a cucumber plant.  I keep hoping he’ll get more interested in gardening but he hasn’t.  The tomatoes all get ripe quickly so this year I’m canning some that they can eat this winter.  I canned 5 pints of peaches and 5 pints of tomatoes.

FOODS 2013 288All the foods are looking so pretty in the jars.  There will be plenty for everyone when the garden season ends, or the store prices get too high, or the food shortages get worse, or the zombie apocalypse happens.   😉  I think we’ll all be very happy I’ve been sweating over a hot stove to store away everything I’m able.  Hmm… what will I can today?  I’ll let you know later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
