Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Spring cleaning is late

Every year, in the Spring, it’s time to open the windows, let in the sunshine, and clear out the cob webs.  Uh, I think I’m a little past due.  A couple of years past due.  It’s almost time for fall cleaning.  Do you see the cob webs and dust on the flutter-by and picture frame?  No?

FOODS 2013 286

Ok let me show you a different view.  Look near the separation of the pink and white.  Maybe click to enlarge it to see better.

FOODS 2013 287

Still not clear?  How about this view?  Enlarge this one for sure.

FOODS 2013 285

Can you see that stuff behind the lamp?  No?  Well, here it is.  Eeeewww!  Creepy stuff isn’t it.  I feel like Lily Munster has decorated my house.

FOODS 2013 284

That’s what happens when I go two or three years without opening the curtains to let in light.  Here is how the room looked when I had just finished making and installing the window quilts in this room.  The view is of how they look both up and down.

October 2011 022

I remember it was a little before the weather started turning bitter cold when I rushed to make these quilts.   October or November maybe?  2011?  I had been in a rush putting new plastic on the windows too.  The old plastic was torn and dirty.  No longer useful at all.  I had a backlog of Christmas quilts to get finished and there wasn’t a lot of time for ME stuff.  I believe I closed the curtains that evening and haven’t opened them since.  No light means I can’t see how dusty it gets.  My sheets were washed and the bed made but that was it.  Nothing else except sleeping in the room.   I had only a small amount of light when making the bed or getting in/out of it.

Now I am asking myself….. what happened?  An honest opinion, I let other things distract me.  It was easier to leave the curtains closed than to say no to other happenings.  Happenings like these:

1) Will I babysit this weekend.  Yes.

2) Would I go get food bank food this week.  Sure, let’s go.

3) Your Mom needs calming down, will you help?  Yes, be right there.

4) You haven’t been out of the house for awhile, let’s have lunch.  Um, ok.

5)  I got all these _______ (fill in the blank), will you show me how to can them?

6) I’ll get started right after I finish watching this show or finish this email.

You see what I’m getting at?  But that was not all.  I would look at chores and throw up my arms in defeat.  Everything I want to do is always dependent on me doing something else first, and that is dependent on me doing something before that, and so it goes.  I get frustrated that “I can’t do it all”  or “can’t do it perfect” and therefore do absolutely nothing.   Oh yes, and there is the “I might get started and have to quit right in the middle.”  so nothing is started.

Well, the time finally came.  I no longer have cable tv so that wasn’t a distraction.  My computer was gone to the doctor to be fixed so that couldn’t distract me.  I had a quilt to finish but it could wait just one more day.

I cleaned the room.  Really, thoroughly cleaned it.  I took down the curtains to wash.  Wet mopped the floors.  Dusted and washed down all the furniture and nick-knacks.  It scared me quite a bit to see the size of the cob webs.  I didn’t find any creatures that made them than goodness.  I don’t mind a few granddaddy long leg spiders to control other bugs pests; but, no way do I want brown recluse or black widow spiders in my house.  I know the webs those make and that wasn’t it.

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2013 by in CLEANING and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
