Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Chicken soup

The food we received this week from the mobile food bank was:

FOODS 2013 054

Two 5 pound bags of white potatoes, sweet potatoes, carrots, onions, apples, a couple of lemons, red cabbage, some snack bags of chips, a bag of four chicken leg quarters, and a fruit drink.  I decided to can some cream of chicken soup that could be used in several different recipes.  I was explaining it to one of the neighbors.  My neighbor looked at me quite serious and asked;  “Where do you find chicken cream?”  Oye! Got me on that one.

Information

This entry was posted on July 25, 2013 by in DIABETES AND FOOD BANKS and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,140 Hits
