Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Fruit fly traps

The fruit flies have been especially bothersome this year.  I believe its from the unusually wet weather we’ve had.  Or maybe it’s because I have so much produce coming into the house lately?  Anyway,  I can’t remember the last time that there were so many of those little pests hanging around.  I can’t even eat with any kind of comfort.  The minute I set down with something to eat the fruit flies attack it and me.  Salads are an absolute NO NO these days because those stinkers dive down inside.  It was high time I did something about them.  Like right now!  I couldn’t stand it anymore.

So I made some fruit fly traps and set them around the house.  The traps are simple to make.  A little apple cider vinegar in a jar or a bottle or even a simple glass.  A piece of plastic wrap on the top.  A pin size hole in the plastic and that’s it.  How does it work?  The cider vinegar is irresistible to the fruit flies.  The flies think it’s a rotten apple which they love more than anything.

FOODS 2013 314

The pin size hole is just large enough to make the critters struggle to get inside.  They squeeze through and then can’t get back  out again.  You can watch them swimming around in the vinegar as if they are an alcoholic swimming in a vat of whisky.  The vinegar gets them drunk and then they drown.

I set out 6 of these traps.  After about an hour I checked them for activity.

FOODS 2013 315

Yup, lots of little flies swimming around getting drunk.  A little while later they are done for.  After about 24 hours most of the fruit flies have met their fate.  A few more linger around but I feel much better about eating.  I’m not being attacked the minute I set down.  If you are bothered by fruit flies give this a try.  It’s cheap and it works.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
