Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Fly repellent?

I was searching the internet for a DIY recipe for a fly repellent without any essential oils or skin so soft in it.  It’s  for a neighborhood dog.  Poor thing’s ear tips are fly magnets these days and is miserable.  Anyway, I came across this hint that supposedly keeps flies away from the house door.  Your supposed to put a few pennies in a ziploc bag and fill it with water.  Then place it near the door where the sun will shine on it.  I think someone is playing a prank on all of us.  😉

FOODS 2013 293

I happened to mention it to my mother and right away she tells me that Grandma Mama used to put canning jars of water near her doors to prevent flies from hanging around.  WHAT?  Then Mom reminds me that the jars of water were an attraction to me as a child.  I would play with the water jars on hot summer days.  Washing my doll clothes and pretend dishes.  Oh yeah, I remember that now.  So apparently this is a very old fly remedy.  Then I started thinking about water in the summer.  Have you ever seen flies hanging around a swimming pool?  I don’t think I have.

How does it work?  Apparently the sun reflects off the water and messes with the many eyes of the fly.  Can you imagine having thousands of eyes and the sun shining in them all?  What’s the pennies for?  Oh, those are supposed to make the water reflections look like a possible predator to the fly.  So, a fly is blinded by reflections and sees something it can’t quite make out.  It doesn’t take any chances and flies away.  Does it work?  Yes!  It does.  I have definitely seen fewer flies the last couple of weeks. Of course on cloudy days the flies hang around and a few get into the house.

As for the neighborhood dog, I think I’ll stick to what I know will work for sure.  Plain old apple cider vinegar in the drinking water.   I had the owner start putting about 1/4 cup vinegar in a gallon of water every day.  He’s a big cane corso dog so he drinks alot.  His ears are also very small so for the flies to eat on them it must be painful.  The vinegar repels flies from the inside out.  Cider vinegar changes the flavor of the skin so the flies don’t see it as appetizing anymore.  

So far, it’s working.  

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2013 by in PEST CONTROL.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
