Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Pest control

Every home has at least one garbage can.  In our area we call it garbage but in other areas it’s called refuse.  Whatever you call it, it’s still wasted foods and other icky stuff put into a can for collection by a big truck.  Garbage goes into the can and it sets there for a few days waiting for garbage collection day.

Organizing 2013 128

Garbage cans waiting for collection are prime food sources for lots of different pests.  Rats, mice, flies, and roaches are the worst followed by opossums and raccoons.  I stop going into the alley at night during warm months because it’s like a scene out of some horror movie back there.  Squirrels will get into garbage cans for a tasty slice of bread or a donut now and then too.

Garbage loving pests don’t like winter weather.  Every fall the outside pests try to find nice warm homes to move into for the winter.  In a poorer neighborhood, like the one I live in, there is a higher concentration of people which means more garbage cans filled with more food waste than would be found in the wealthy people suburbs.  Most residents in this area can barely afford food to waste so they aren’t likely to pay for pest control products.  This means the pests grow fat and multiply rapidly.

A part of my normal fall – get ready for winter- routine is to refresh my pest control BEFORE any pests move inside my house.  So yesterday I bought a new supply.  I use the spray outside the doors and windows.  I don’t care what the manufacturers of the all natural spray says, that stuff STINKS!  The packets are put underneath appliances and near known mice runs.  No odors with those.

Organizing 2013 126

I was really bummed out when I got to the car and a whole bottle of the Eco-smart had poured out into the grocery bag and then it spilled onto the carpet of my daughter’s car.  Some smartalic had loosened the top on the bottle and I didn’t know it.  Neither did the cashier.  I realize the bottle says “safe” around pets,  humans, and even kitchens but that seems like a contradiction.  If it “kills” how can it be safe?  Anyway, I don’t believe it will be safe to keep breathing the fumes inside a closed car.  Ladybug sets in the backseat where the fumes are the worst. We are going to pay to have it cleaned out of the carpet.

Yes, I know I can make my own pest control products.  I have done that many times.  I decided to go with ready made this year to save some time and space.  The extra time will allow me to move on and finish other winter preparedness chores before the last leaf falls.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,619 Hits
