Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Window plastic and quilts

I took my window quilts down to wash them way back last spring and never put them back up.  I had fully intended to make new window quilts.  Geeze, where did the spring and summer go?  Well, since I didn’t get around to making new ones and the weather is turning very cool this week, I decided I had best get the plastic replaced and the old window quilts back onto the studio windows.  Making new window quilts will have to wait for another time.

It’s very difficult to take a photo of a window with bright sunlight coming through it.  I got out the ladder and pulled the old plastic off.  It wasn’t doing any good anyway.  There were some holes in the plastic from little hands and the plastic becomes cloudy over time. I cleaned the windows before putting up the new plastic.

ENERGY SAVING 2013 009

Then the quilts went back up on the windows.  I had wanted to replace my window quilts because when I made these I had cut every single one ten inches too short.  I don’t have a clue what I was thinking at the time.  For a quick, last minute fix, I simply sewed a piece of fabric to the top of each one and used them anyway.

ENERGY SAVING 2013 010

I decided to change the curtains in the studio too while I was working on these windows.  The darker curtains had been used in there for a number of years.  Lighter and newer curtains make the room a little more cheerful.  I’ll have to make new tie backs because I can’t find the ones that go with these curtains.

ENERGY SAVING 2013 054

I also changed from using two string holders, one on each side, to  only one in the center.  Instead of raising each quilt individually like before they now work together and are put onto one string holder.  Umm… I can’t remember what the thingie is called.  A tie-down?

ENERGY SAVING 2013 041

You would be surprised how much warmer a room can feel when you put plastic on leaky windows. Plastic is the poor person’s replacement window.  When you can’t afford the latest energy efficient windows then plastic works.  Adding a quilt or insulated curtains can cut down on the air movement considerably.  I think the studio window has a fresh new look to keep the winter doldrums away.  Don’t you?

ENERGY SAVING 2013 044

I did write a post back in 2009 about how to make simple window quilts.  Unfortunately, the photos disappeared and I’m still searching for them.  See the post HERE.  I do plan to write a new post about how these can be made without a quilting machine and without sewing skills.  Simple, simple.  My neighbor will be the student because she really needs a quilt for her survival room in a very drafty house.  I went to her house yesterday and taught her how to put plastic on the windows.  She felt a very big difference last night.  Said she had to take some of the blankets off the bed because it was too warm. Yea!

Now if only more of my neighbors would actually CARE about saving energy.  But why should they care?  They get rewarded for having really high utility bills.  Reward comes in the form of money assistance to pay the high utility bills.  The higher the bill, the greater the money gain.  So where is the incentive to save energy?  Where is the reward for being conservative with energy?  You ever hear of anyone getting a financial prize for using less energy than the year before?  Me neither.  Maybe someday.

Well anyway, my studio is one step closer to being ready to tackle winter’s wrath and utility company greed.  I’ve already started the next “save energy” project.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,140 Hits
