Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Canning again

I happened on a big bunch of discounted apples at Meijer a few days ago.

FOODS 2013 434

After opening the bags and putting into a box it comes to about a bushel.  I’ve used this box before for measuring large quantities of discount produce.

FOODS 2013 436

I already had plenty of jelly and juice so these apples became apple pie in a jar.   YUM!

FOODS 2013 448

I also got a delivery of two bushel of collard greens.  Two more bushel are to be delivered next week.

FOODS 2013 451

So I got busy cleaning and pressure canning those.  The first batch lost most of the water during processing.  These are still good but will be eaten first.  I’ll cook the whole bunch and invite the neighbors.  Greens are very a popular food in my neighborhood so everyone will want some.

FOODS 2013 450

Next I made chicken and veggie broth and pressure canned it to help clean out the freezer a bit.  I use left over veggie peelings, bones, and spices.  Do you know the difference between a meat stock and a meat broth?  Well, the stock has vegetables in it and the broth doesn’t.  The stock is darker because it gets color from the veggies and the broth is clearer because it is made with meat bones only.

FOODS 2013 452

Why do I do so much canning and sharing?  Because I’m able.  For some odd reason I feel an urgency to fill my house with canned food for myself as well as everyone else too.  It’s almost like an undercurrent of impending hardships.  Nothing specific, just a feeling I get every once in awhile.  This is what causes it.  The sight of the price of food lately.

FOODS 2013 449

Original price was $23.65 for less than four pounds.  That’s $6.29 per pound for what used to be a very cheap.  I haven’t seen prices this high ever.  I do remember what we thought were really high prices back in the seventies during the oil embargo.  What’s the oil embargo?  Well, 40 years ago this month (1973) the oil producing nations decided to raise the price of oil by 70 percent in one day and cut production five percent a month for several months.  Eventually the cost of a barrel of oil went up 387 percent higher than it had been the year before.  And, the oil producing countries refused to sell oil to the USA and a few other countries.

I can’t remember exactly why but I believe it had something to do with a six day war over there.  No oil other than what was produced in the USA meant no gas.  No gas meant no food transporting.  Ok, the USA did produce some oil and gas but there wasn’t enough to go around.  Some gas lines at the pump were four or five miles long and there was a ten gallon limit.

Anyway, back on subject, if this roast had not been marked down I would not have bought it.  I do get tired of chicken or fish day after day so an occasional roast chases away the boredom.  I just wish it didn’t cost so darned much.  I had to choose between buying the roast and buying other things.

Hmm… thinking about the cost of food…. what if there were no roasts to be bought at any price?  Scary!  I can relate to what my Grandma Mama must have felt during WW one and two or the depression.  When food was scarce and expensive.  At least she did live on a farm so she was better off than many people.  Each day, when I watch the news, I get the same feelings of dread.  Anyone else getting those feelings or am I just suffering the beginnings of panic attacks?

4 comments on “Canning again

  1. Theresa
    September 15, 2014

    Lovie your blog

    • Na Na
      September 18, 2014

      Thank you Theresa. Glad to see you here.

  2. Nancy
    October 31, 2013

    I was able to get a nice roast for $5.83 from the discount meat counter last week. I’ll be able to get 3-4 meals out of it. I have always stayed away from meat that has turned a dark red thinking it was going bad. I’ve read it’s still good, that air just got to it. What do you think?

    • Na Na
      November 2, 2013

      $5.83! That was a great find.

      I watch for signs of green or greenish brown to know meat is going bad. I used to think I should throw out anything that smelled bad but I have learned that all meat stinks these days. Especially chicken and ground beef.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 253,149 Hits
