Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Door quilt finished

For years I had quilts on all the windows and on the opening between the quilting studio and the kitchen.  I’ve had window quilts of several different colors and themes over the last 50 or so years.  For some reason, the last few years, it’s been a struggle for me to get new replacement window quilts made and installed.  BUT, I’m getting it done.   Umm…. I’m replacing them because the last ones fell apart when washed.  Actually I know that being a professional machine quilter, with a very heavy schedule, is the reason I couldn’t get new window quilts made.  Me, and other professional quilters like me, tend to always put the customer first.  Our own projects get shoved aside while we make the customers happy.

During cold weather months I use small space heaters to heat the room I’m actually occupying instead of running the house furnace to heat rooms not being used.  Window quilts keep the air flow over windows to a minimum.  A quilt between studio and kitchen works the same way.  It doesn’t completely prevent air flow but it does cut it down a lot.

ENERGY SAVING 2013 049

The window coverings do not have to be actual quilts.  I like quilts because I’m a quilter.  The window coverings can be blankets bought from a thrift store.  Think of it this way.  Imagine you are standing out in the cold and you are naked.  Would it matter if someone covered you with a quilt or a blanket so long as you felt warm? No?  Ok.  It doesn’t matter to your windows either.  Your windows are naked and doing their best to keep out the cold air.  Please, do your windows a favor and cover them with something very warm in the winter months.   They’ll thank you by helping keep the utility bill lower.

Here is how my doorway quilt looks when down.

ENERGY SAVING 2013 051

Here is how the quilt looks rolled up and out of the way.

ENERGY SAVING 2013 050

I still have some tweaking to do because it wants to roll up crooked.  I believe the hanging sleeve is crooked.  I’ll take it down this week and re do it so it’s straighter.  I’m buttoning up as much as possible before cold weather.  I believe it’s going to be very cold this year because we haven’t had a really bad winter for a few years.  We’re due for one.  Plus, the cost of utilities keep rising.  I’m never sure if I’ll be able to keep paying the higher costs.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
