Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Yikes! Cauliflower $12 per head

A few days ago I thought maybe I’d make some fried cauliflower and put it in the freezer.  I had used the last that I had a couple of months ago.  I like it for a quick snack once in awhile.  So I take a trip to the grocery to see what’s in the discount bin and maybe pick up some cauliflower.  Geewillikers!!  The price of cauliflower was $3.99 a pound.  I picked up one that was about the size I would have bought in the past and weighed it.  The head was a little over three pounds so that would make the cost of one head of cauliflower be about $12.  Yes, twelve dollars.  Nope.  Nada.  Not going to pay that price.  

FOODS 2013 268

Grateful for the summer food bank foods

I decided to look at the cost of mushrooms as an alternative.  I like fried mushrooms too.  The mushrooms were priced at $2.89 per package.  One package is 8 ounces which would mean mushrooms sell for $5.78 per pound.   That’s over five dollars a pound for mushrooms.  Five dollars! The last time I bought mushrooms was back in July.  I bought them discounted for $1.79 in one pound packages.  40% off.  That put the price at  about $2.50 a pound only 6 months ago.   So mushrooms have doubled in price in only six months.

FOODS 2013 282

Discounted 1 pound packs of mushrooms back in July of 2013

Ok, those two snack items were too costly for my budget.  So how about broccoli?  Nope, that sells for $3.99 per pound too.  Then I started looking around at other items in the produce section.  Everything is selling by the pound these days.  AND, the prices are outrageous! The selection is pretty slim.

What’s going on with the produce?  Anybody know?  Have there been disasters to interrupt the food supplies? Could the typhoon that caused so much damage be the reason for the higher cost of produce?  Or is it the price of gas?

Should we all be worried?  YES!  Ok, it’s only my own opinion but I believe things are still going to get a whole lot worse before they get better.  I’m gonna stop writing now before I work myself into a panic.  I’m going into the kitchen to do a little food work instead.  Maybe canning or baking?  I’m not sure what it will be yet.

Canned mushrooms

Canned mushrooms done in July 2013

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,268 Hits
