Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Cloth or paper

For several years I’ve been ridding my house of as many disposable items as possible.  One of the first to be eliminated was paper towels.  I keep one roll of paper towels for the convenience of any customer that might need to use the facilities and wash their hands.  I realized some of my customers may not know about my quest to go back to a simpler life so I wrote them notes and put in the restroom.   Click it to see it larger.  Hey, I almost did a selfie.

organizing-2013-079

Ok, for those who can’t click, it says; “I have paper towels if you prefer but I do live frugally.  I use cloth hand towels because paper makes the environment cry.”  The arrow on the left is pointing to the paper towel roll.

This is the remaining amount of paper towels I have.  This roll has been here for three or four years.  Maybe longer.  I guess there might be five or six towels left on the roll?  When those are gone I will not replace the roll.

organizing-2013-081

The arrow on the right is pointing to this.

organizing-2013-082

These are cheap, take very little space, and are very reusable.   The sign reads “Deposit used hand towels here.”   So far, everyone has chosen to use the cloth instead of the paper.  I got a pack of 12 face cloths for two dollars when a new Roses store opened a few years ago.

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2014 by in MAKE DO AND MEND and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
