Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Dylan’s blanket

I have a purse dog named Dylan.  He stays cold most of the time and is often found like this.  He drags his blankie around to follow the sun.  Each morning he pulls the blankie out flat then pulls and scratches it back into a ball.  His bed is made every day the same way I make my bed every morning.

ENERGY SAVING 2014 003In the fall, when the temperature outside grew colder, Dylan would often be shivering even in the sun.  It’s colder at floor level and I do keep the thermostat turned down.  So a few years ago I bought him his very own electric blanket. I keep it on the lowest setting so he doesn’t burn himself.  I noticed when Dylan starts shivering he will walk over and lay down on the blanket for awhile.  When he has warmed up he returns to his blankie.  He repeats this throughout the day.

ENERGY SAVING 2014Well, the last few days, with the cold temperatures dropping way below what we’ve seen in several years, Dylan has decided to make his bed differently.  He’s now combining everything to stay warm.

ENERGY SAVING 2014 005The sunlight, his blankie, and the electric blanket.  Can you see the expression on his little face?  I think he’s feeling much warmer.  I think he needs a sweater too.  I put that on my shopping list.

2 comments on “Dylan’s blanket

  1. Chloe Esoteric
    May 16, 2014

    He’s so lovely!

    • Na Na
      May 25, 2014

      Thank you.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2014 by in ENERGY SAVINGS TIPS, HOW ITS MADE and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
