Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Ants in the kitchen

I don’t know what happened to February.  It passed right on by me without notice.  I was sick in bed almost the whole month of March.  It’s difficult to think about writing a blog post when all I could do is get to the bathroom a couple times a day, drink some water to stay hydrated, and stumble back to the bed.  I have lost a few pounds.  That’s not a bad thing.

I’ve been battling ants for a few weeks.  The ants BITE! Believe me when I say that the bite hurts.  It feels like being stuck by a pin or a needle.  They are meat eater ants.  They won’t eat sweets or other food items.  Just meat.  The nest is underneath the house and I can’t get to it.  I’ve tried just about every natural repellent or chemical killer and none have worked.

It looks like I have a speckle color kitchen counter.

It looks like I have a speckle color kitchen counter.

Those darn things attack anything that moves close to them.  You see how they swarmed near me when I was taking photos?  Here are some of the things I’ve tried.

A few of the ant products I've used.

A few of the ant products I’ve used.

I can’t cook on the stove and I can’t wash dishes in the kitchen.  So, I wash dishes in the bathroom.

I'm glad I have enough room on the counter for washing dishes.  The sink is just too shallow.

I’m glad I have enough room on the counter for washing dishes. The sink is just too shallow.

I cook on a table on the other side of the kitchen.  I make good use of my crockpot, my microwave, and my electric skillet.  I do plan to have an exterminator come in just as soon as I can save up the money.  There is one consolation to having meat eater ants….. they eat termites and other bugs.

If you look closely you can see a cluster of ants.  It's the brown spot near the center of the picture.

If you look closely you can see a cluster of ants on the kitchen faucet. It’s the brown spot near the center of the picture.

Now that I think about it, I haven’t seen a spider, a centipede, a water bug, a roly poly bug, or anything else around my house for a very long time.   I thought it was because of winter weather but now I’m not so sure.  I worry about sleeping at night.  I have nightmares of waking up to see millions of ants all over me.  (shudder)

Ok, enough time on the computer for today.  My house is a total mess from no cleaning for a whole month.

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2014 by in MAKE DO AND MEND, PEST CONTROL and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
