Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Back to basics

I don’t know if you read my main blog or not so let me tell ya;  life has a sneaky way of changing without notice.  Due to health reasons I’ve decided to quit machine quilting for others.  No major illness, just pain in my arm due to bone loss.  Pain means no swinging an 80 pound machine around 16 hours a day, 7 days a week.  Machine quilting was what paid the bills.  At first it was a big blow to my ego.  No, I’m not supposed to get sick.  No, I’m not supposed to grow old older.  No, I’m not supposed to slow down.  I’m supposed to continue as super woman forever!

FOODS 2013 051

Recycle cooking energy

 

Alright, the initial shock has worn off.  Time for me to face reality and get on with life.  I can’t machine quilt for others as I did before which means I’m pretty much in the same shape as anyone else who is suddenly “let go” from a job.  There are other ways for me to continue earning money to pay the bills but not right away.  First I do what the practitioner prescribes for me.  Medication, calcium rich foods, and physical therapy.  Um…. that’s one more reason for me to watch my diet.  Diabetes too.

In the meantime, I must go back to basics and renew my frugal living in earnest.  Not that I haven’t been living frugally all along.  Just that I must be more vigil in my efforts and not slip occasionally as I did before.

Food etc 012

Preserving food received from food pantry

There is a positive side to full retirement.  “No more deadlines.”  This also means no more excuses for not cleaning, not organizing, not fixing, not cooking, or any other not done things.  I can’t use finishing a customer quilt as an excuse for not doing things anymore.

I’m taking the next few days to finish a couple of quilts for my state fair entries.  These were started months ago and set aside until now.  Hopefully, after these two, I’ll have more time to get my life and my home back in shape in no time flat.  Look for more frequent frugal living posts in the near future.  IF anyone is still reading my blogs.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
