Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Nearly fall already?

I’ve been away for a few days.  There was no phone, no computer, but lots of fun.  I spent time at a kids summer camp but the kids were gone.  I’ve not been away from home for more than a few hours in several years.  I was way out of my league among all the artists there but I had fun anyway.  Yesterday and today I had computer troubles.  Anyway, I’m back and suddenly it’s almost cold outside.  The cooler weather has reminded me to get things done BEFORE really cold weather gets here.  ‘Cause when it gets cold the utility bills skyrocket.

Older people need more heat than younger people.  I’ve not turned on my heat yet.  I’m going to hold out for as long as I possibly can but I still want to be ready when it’s time.  So I checked my supply of filters.

Energy diet 2014 005

I bought these at the end of the heating season last spring.  Discounted of course.

Energy diet 2014 007

I need more of the larger filters.  Those should be on sale next month.  The 12 x 24 size are plentiful.  The smaller 12 x 12 are really hard to find.  I stock up on those whenever I find them.

Maybe you have heard about the energy vampires sucking up electricity even when an appliance is turned off?  Well, here’s one energy vampire you may not have thought about.  The carbon monoxide detector.  The device that warns you when your furnace is not operating correctly.  DO NOT confuse this with a smoke detector.  They are not the same thing.

Energy diet 2014 001During the summer months my heater is not needed which means the gas is not used.  My furnace does not have a pilot light.  No combustion means there is no carbon monoxide being created to detect.  Therefore, a carbon monoxide detector is not needed if my furnace is not being used.  No need to let it keep drawing electricity, tiny amount or not, so I simply unplug it and put it away for the summer.  I store it with the furnace filters and that way I don’t forget to plug it back in when it’s time to turn on the heat.

I have several energy saving things to do before the really cold weather sets in on us.  How about you?  Are you thinking about buttoning up the house for winter or are you in a climate that is ready to open up to let spring in?

2 comments on “Nearly fall already?

  1. sarasinart
    September 14, 2014

    My furnace is forced air and I use those filters, and can never get any good deals on them like you can. I wish! I’m in southern PA and our winters are always cold, last year being the worst I can remember, and at 65 years old, my memory goes back a ways. I have an energy saver I do that involves free solar heat. My house is long and skinny, and set on the lot so the long side get the sun all morning, and the front gets the sun in the afternoon. In the summer, I use blinds and heavy curtains to keep that heat out. In the winter, I use lighter weight curtains and put the blinds up all day and open the curtains, and the sun helps give me some free heat. Every little bit helps, and the way my house sits, I need to make the windows work for me, not against. Good luck, keep warm, and here it comes!

    • Na Na
      September 18, 2014

      I live in a shotgun style house too. Luckily the sun goes up and over the house each day instead of from one end to the other. My quilting studio is south facing so it gets good winter sunlight. When I bought this house I choose it because of how it received the sunlight. I hope you put up plastic and window quilts too. Look for the furnace filters to go discount in January, February, or even March when the stores want to make room for summer items. Not hardware stores. Look in grocery stores, drug stores, and big box stores. I found those at Kroger.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 240,682 Hits
