Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Window quilts

The past week we’ve had some chilly nights.  Over the weekend I decided I best get a move on and change the plastic on my bedroom windows before the really cold sets in on us.  The plastic had a big split on both windows and that won’t keep out cold air.  I took down the window quilts and curtains and put them in the washer.  While they were getting cleaned I put new plastic on the windows.  I splurged and used the clothes dryer so I could put everything back up before bedtime.

Energy diet 2014 016

dang! dang! dang!  Both quilts had shrunk.  They shrunk so much that they are no longer usable as window quilts.  So I simply put the curtains back up until I can make new ones.  This time I’ll pre shrink the fabric first.  I really thought I had preshrunk that fabric but I guess I didn’t.

I can get Ladybug to help with the quilting.  She’d love that.  She’s been wanting to use the “big machine” for a long time.  Yup, that’s what I’m gonna do.  Let Ladybug help with the quilting.  Hmm… I guess I best get started washing some fabrics.

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2014 by in ENERGY SAVINGS TIPS, PREPAREDNESS and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
