Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

It’s that darned polar vortex again

Ready or not it’s back.  Polar vortex is weather speak for really cold and nasty weather.  Am I ready for that? Not quite, even though I’m much better off than I was just a few years ago.  My house has been insulated, my windows have energy saving film on the glass and plastic over that, my water heater has an insulating jacket, and I have low flow water faucets.  Yes I’ve done all the typical energy saving tips you can find on just about every energy saving site.

Anyway, I took down the window quilts in the studio to wash and put new plastic on those windows.  I made the quilts too short but they were working ok so I’m still going to be using them.  I fully intend to make new ones over the winter months.

Energy diet 2014 018Everything is back up and looking nice.  I would prefer to have heavier weight curtains.  I don’t have any right now.  I’m on the lookout for some at the thrift stores.  Maybe I’ll get lucky.  Or maybe I’ll find just the right heavy fabric to make my own.

Energy diet 2014 019

I really don’t like cold weather.  It makes me hurt all over.  I do everything I’m able to do in order to stay warm without killing my budget with high utility bills.  I changed the bedding from summer cotton sheets and light summer quilt to flannel sheets and a warmer quilt.  I pulled out my flannel jammies, put away the summer gowns,  and my house flip flops were exchanged for fluffy house shoes with socks.  I put away the small fans and pull out the small electric heaters. One for each room.  I keep the furnace turned down and heat only the room I’m actually in.  15 minutes before bedtime I turn on the heater in my bedroom so it’s warm when I’m ready.

Energy diet 2014

The furnace is set on 65 but the house temperature is 73 because I’ve had the pressure canner going today.  Canning keeps the house warm while helping me save money on my grocery bill.  Today I canned pinto beans.  Three pints for my daughter and 10 half pints for myself.  Half pints are like single serve size.  These just came out of the canner and are still very hot.  After they cool off I’ll wash and label them.

Food and kitchen 2014 186

The fur kid is making use of his electric blanket.  He spends a great deal of time there.

Energy diet 2014 035

The very first cold days are the best ones to locate where heat is escaping.  I use an incense stick to watch where the smoke travels.  People in warmer states don’t really understand the need for keeping heat inside because they use air conditioning more than heat.  I believe everyone, even those in warm states, are going to feel the cold air blast of that darned polar vortex in the next few days.  Are you ready for that?

2 comments on “It’s that darned polar vortex again

  1. sarasinart
    November 12, 2014

    I’m never ready for cold but it’s coming in our way tonight and lasting for maybe a week. Keep as warm as you can!

    • Na Na
      November 13, 2014

      I’ve been watching the news and this storm is nasty. I hope we all stay warm and safe.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,140 Hits
