Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Dang cabinet

There is a cabinet above my stove where I store the most often used pots.  It was always a hassle for me to get the one I needed because everything was stacked.  To get the one on the bottom I had to pick up the stack, get the one I need, put the rest back.

Food and kitchen 2014 168

The same process for putting it back after use.  Take down the stack, put the one back, put stack back in cabinet.  Well, not anymore.  I pulled out some of my command hook collection and did this.

Food and kitchen 2014 172

So much better for me now. I no longer need to pick up the whole stack to get or put back a pot.    The two pans on the right are turned on their side and held in place by their handles.  I couldn’t simply turn the pots with long handles on their sides because the handle is too long for the cabinet.  This doesn’t make any more room but it does make it all easier to use.

Well, since I was working in the cabinets I thought it might be nice to clean out the one next to it.  Nothing major, just clean it.

Food and kitchen 2014 171

It does look better.  I have plans for changing this cabinet after the holidays.  One shelf is missing because the shelf hook broke and I haven’t replaced it yet.  There, that looks better.  All clean and a little better organized.

Food and kitchen 2014 174

I don’t want to stop now.  This area behind the sink has bothered me for quite awhile.  It was ok at first because it made the most often used items handy while hiding that awful, very unusable, corner area.

Food and kitchen 2014 164

Gone.  The food items are now stored in a cabinet and the sink corner is visible again.  I wanted to clean the spot off the wall but my arms are too short.  I tied a sponge to the end of a spatula to clean it. This photo is from before I cleaned it.

Food and kitchen 2014 167

So now the only thing behind the kitchen sink is a couple of leeks waiting to be put into the freezer.  The tops are kept for making stock.

Food and kitchen 2014 180

Umm…. might as well do something else that’s been on my mind for quite awhile. I buy things like vinegar, honey, olive oil, browning sauce, Worcester sauce, and so forth in large half gallon or gallon sizes.  It’s very unhandy to go pull out the large containers for a table spoon of something for cooking.  Even the oil mister takes only a tablespoon or so to work.

Food and kitchen 2014 175

I took this idea from some cooking show on KET that I can’t remember right now.  It was some guy always cooking for his buddies on poker night.  He was proving guys can cook great quick meals too.  While the gang played poker he was cooking.  Well anyway, I put everything into those ketsup bottles. Don’t they look neat now?  Much easier to use too.  I love this idea.  I’ll be buying more to use for other things too.

Using the ketsup bottles has been around for quite awhile.  I just didn’t think about it until I saw it on tv.  Hmm… if I remember right, some restaurants use ketsup bottles to hold things too.  I haven’t eaten out in so long I can’t remember exactly which restaurants though.

In my opinion the ketsup bottles are a great money saver as well. Why?  Well because it puts unhandy items into handy size which means it gets used before going bad.  How about you.  Are you using ketsup bottles in your kitchen?

4 comments on “Dang cabinet

  1. KAYTHEGARDENER
    October 3, 2015

    I too have a diagonal area behind my kitchen sink. I got a 12″ turntable & now I can reach anything stored on it. Measure first, some areas can only hold a 10″ turntable.
    Happy cooking to all the readers!!

    • Na Na
      October 4, 2015

      What a great idea! Thanks. I’m gonna see if I can find one that fits.

  2. sarasinart
    November 16, 2014

    You made a lot of neat improvements. It’s always good when you can make your kitchen make sense to you, then everything’s easier.

    • Na Na
      November 17, 2014

      Thank you. You are right. Things do work much better when it makes sense to me.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 243,603 Hits
