Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

No wonder I was cold

I’ve seen the stories on the news about some areas in the USA getting five and six feet of snow or more.  Wow, I realized that amount would be over my head. Nobody would even know I was there if I were moving around in that much snow. Bitter cold temperatures are all over the place too. Am I ready for that?  Only a little bit ready.  I’ve spent too much time procrastinating.  Ok, in my defense, nothing ever goes easy for me.

For example, I wanted to redo the plastic on the windows of what is supposed to be my living room/den.  It is actually the master bedroom but my studio is in the room normally called the living room.  My computer is next to a window and I could feel very cold air around that window.  It was not fun setting at the computer shivering.

Evidently the plastic needed to be replaced.  I checked and sure enough the tape holding it had dried out and come loose.  It has been 6 years since the plastic was put on there.  I don’t usually let the plastic go more than two years before replacing it.  One year is best.

Energy diet 2014 037

The sheets were put over the windows at the same time the plastic was put there.  I had just finished painting the room and making plans for it to become a den.  The sheets were supposed to be temporary curtains when my daughter and grand daughter stayed here while she went through the process of buying a house.  It’s hard to believe that was  six years ago.

As I said, nothing is easy for me.  After my daughter bought a house and moved that room became a temporary storage room.  It gradually filled up with STUFF.  Back then I was working full time quilting with a heavy work schedule.  Customers were clearing out their fabric stash and asking me if I wanted it.  Sure!  So I started putting the fabric and craft stuff in this room believing it would only be until I could go through it all.  So here it is 6 years later and I can’t get to those windows. Here’s why.

Well I finally started cleaning stuff out of the room.  It took me two days to sort and move about half the STUFF out of this room.  When I was actually able to get to the windows I discovered why it felt so cold near the computer.  All three windows were actually open at the top about an inch.

Energy diet 2014 040

Well dang.  No wonder this room always felt so cold.  There was nothing to keep out the cold except a covering of thin plastic.  Even that had stopped working when the tape came loose.  So I’ve been setting in this room for 5 winter seasons and all three windows were open. Dang, dang, dang.   Money wasted.  It took me about two hours to get the windows unstuck so they would close.

While I was sorting and getting rid of STUFF I came across a plastic tub filled with the window quilts I made back then but never had the time to put on the windows.

Energy diet 2014 038

I decided it was time that the quilts went on the windows.  At least in this room.  I rounded up the supplies I have not seen since the quilts were made.  Except for the hammer and plastic.

Energy diet 2014 041I managed to put the plastic and the quilts on two of the three windows today.  I’ll do the other one tomorrow.  Here they are closed.

Energy diet 2014 043

Here they are open.  This room already feels so much warmer now that the windows are actually closed and new plastic applied.

Energy diet 2014 045

I noticed there is a problem with this one window quilt.  It’s right over the heat vent. When the heat is on it blows behind the quilt.  Not good.  I don’t want to warm the window, I want to warm the room.

Energy diet 2014 047

My simple solution is to use a cabone ring and cup hook on each side.   It’s just enough to hold the quilt against the window when the heat is on.  The air movement from the vent won’t send the heat behind but in front and out into the room where it belongs.

Energy diet 2014 048Tomorrow I’ll work on the last window in this room and put up the curtains.  Now if only I could remember where I put the curtain rods that go in this room.  I wonder what in the world could have happened to them?  I surely wouldn’t have gotten rid of them, would I?  I hadn’t actually made the curtains yet.  I had the fabric and a design in mind.  Then the quilt rush happened, and my daughter moved in, and all plans got lost in time.  I can’t help but wonder what will happen this time to prevent me from finishing this project?

One comment on “No wonder I was cold

  1. sarasinart
    November 21, 2014

    Oh wow it’s great that you discovered that and you’ll be warmer now!

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,268 Hits
