Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Window quilt instructions

I got a couple of emails asking for directions to make the window quilts.  Ok, it’s very simple.  Use whatever type blanket, comforter, quilted fabric, or plain fabric you want to use as your window covering.   You could  go to the thrift stores for cheap fleece blankets or shop a military surplus store for wool blankets.  I happen to be a professional quilt maker so mine are made from scrap fabric that I quilted with the quilting machine.

Whatever you use for your window quilts, cut them to size and finish the edges in some way.  Fleece is a good thick fabric and it doesn’t need to be sewn on the edge.  The open and close system I use is called a roman shade.  Meaning it folds up rather than rolls up to open.  I used two yardsticks (courtesy of the state fair) as the pull up bars.   What can I say, I’m a tightwad and tend to use what is available.  Yard sticks are sold in hardware stores if you didn’t get any at your state fair.

Here you can see the yard sticks inside the two simple casings I sewed to each quilt.  One casing at the bottom and one casing in the center.  It is very difficult to take a photo of a window during the day.  These windows are 40 inches wide by 80 inches tall.

Window quilt how to 2014 001

I also needed some tiny nails, cabone rings, screw eyes, anchors, and twine.  Oh, and a needle and thread.  Yes, there is some sewing to these window quilts.  You want your cabone rings, yardstick casings, and twine to be on the room side of the quilts.  It won’t work if on the window side.

Window quilt how to 2014

I sewed two  cabone rings to the bottom edge, dividing the distance into thirds.   So there are two rings at the points where the quilt is divided into thirds. The first two rings are below the casing for the bottom yard stick.

Window quilt how to 2014 005

Then two more cabone rings are sewn to the top of the casing for the center yard stick.

Window quilt how to 2014 003

These two rings are directly above the bottom rings.

Window quilt how to 2014 018

Using the tiny nails the quilt is tacked to the top of the window casing.  You want the quilt snug against the window so it prevents air movement.  If you have metal windows maybe you can tack it to the wall above.  I used just enough tiny nails to hold it there without being difficult to remove later.  Thumb tacks would have worked too since my quilts are not very heavy.  Three screw eyes are put at the top of the window for the twine to go through.  Two are placed directly above the cabone rings and one is placed off to the corner of one side.

Window quilt how to 2014 015

The twine is tied to the bottom ring, goes through the center ring, up to the top screw eye, and through the screw eye on the side.  Both twine go trough the screw eye on the side.  Ok, let me explain this a different way to make it easier. No measuring.  I lay the twine ball on the floor.  Thread the twine through the rings backward and tie to the bottom ring last. Then cut the twine at the side of the window at the right length.

Window quilt how to 2014 007

I placed the anchor near the center yard stick.  The twine is cut long enough it reaches to the center of the window where it can be pulled to raise the quilt and wrapped around the anchor to hold it open.

Window quilt how to 2014 009

When you pull on the strings it pulls the yardsticks which folds the fabric up on itself.

Window quilt how to 2014 011

I do hope this is understandable. Several years ago I had written an instruction post on how to make these but the photos have disappeared so I wrote this new one.  I have heavy curtains to go over the quilts.  I’ll be putting those up just as soon as I locate where I stored them and the missing curtain rod.  Sometimes I hide things so well that even I can’t find them.  I do hope I haven’t gotten rid of the curtains and don’t remember doing it.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,142 Hits
