Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Closet shelf is fixed

A trip to the hardware and I had three more brackets to fix the broken closet shelf.  Did I tell ya nothing goes smoothly for me? Yeah I think I’ve said that more than once.  Anyway, I go to put up the brackets with longer screws.  I thought the problem had been that the previous ones were too short and came out of the wall.  Nope, I can’t use longer screws because there is something very, very, very hard in that wall.  I can’t imagine what it is but nothing goes through it.  Not even a drill bit.  I’m thinking it must be concrete or bricks.  Why? Well the room that is now a bedroom used to be a back porch originally.  The house was built in 1900.  It was remodeled and the room addition was added in 1980, right before I bought the house.  It is quite possible that the original outside wall was brick and is now inside the bedroom wall which is also a bathroom wall on the other side.  So I go back to the hardware and buy shorter screws and drywall anchors.

The shelf is now back up where it belongs.  I would love to change this into two closets at some point in time.  Not right now though because money is an issue.

Organizing 2014 176Cheap price means cheap product.  Can you see how the bar holder part on some of the brackets doesn’t actually hold the bar?  Yup, I know for sure that the brackets are straight and level.  Just cheap product.

I put the clothes back in the closet.  Then I took a good look at what I have.  Hmm… I think I may have gone overboard when buying smaller sized clothes.  I was just so happy to be buying smaller instead of larger. Know what I mean?  But gee whiz, do I really need 39 pair of pants and 46 shirts?

Organizing 2014 180

Or 6 coats and 7 sweaters?  No, that’s too many clothes for one little old lady who hardly ever goes anywhere.

Organizing 2014 181

Ok, most of these clothes were bought on bag day which means as many as can be stuffed into a bag for one $5 price.   I bought two bags full without realizing how many could be tightly stuffed into those bags. I didn’t do it, the cashiers did. Yes, I do plan to go through the clothes after the holiday.  I’m sure some can be given to the free clothes closet.  When I need more clothes I can go back for another bag day.

I wanted to put the closet doors back up but I won’t be able to do that until I fix the problem left by the guys who put my flooring in several years ago.  Hmm…. I had to look it up but it’s been six years since my house was flooded requiring new flooring.  So the closet doors have been off for that long.  Geeze where did the time go?

2 comments on “Closet shelf is fixed

  1. sarasinart
    November 26, 2014

    Good deal, your issue is over! Have a nice Thanksgiving.

    • Na Na
      November 26, 2014

      Thank you and you too.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2014 by in CLEANING, MAKE DO AND MEND, ORGANIZE and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 241,616 Hits
