Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Cheap cooking oil spray

I was reading the blog of a new follower and I realized some folks may not know about making your own cooking spray. What you need to do is buy an oil mister. It’s as simple as that.  Here is what mine looks like.

Food and kitchen 2014 187

I bought it at Meijer for about nine dollars a few years ago.  I guess it cost under a dime to fill it with oil.  That depends on the cost of the oil you choose. Any type liquid oil will work. I have olive oil in mine but you can use canola, or corn, or coconut, or vegetable oil just as easily.

Food and kitchen 2014 188

The top reminds you to fill the container only half way.  Mine holds about 1/2 cup of oil.  Next you put on the top and pump till it has pressure.  I don’t go beyond a slight resistance.

Food and kitchen 2014 189

I suppose you could have more resistance for more spraying but I don’t need that much.  My pans are single person size.  Now spray away and save yourself some money.

Food and kitchen 2014 190

I don’t know how much cooking spray costs these days so I can’t tell you what the savings would be.  I haven’t bought any for a long, long time.  At that time it was about two dollars a can and I thought it was stinky.

A word of advice if you plan to buy an oil mister, don’t buy it from Amazon.  The ones I saw are way over priced at fifteen dollars or more.  I believe you should be able to find one like mine at any grocery store or department store for ten dollars or less.  Look in the kitchen gadget sections.  I haven’t looked lately but I do remember a dollar store had a few too.

8 comments on “Cheap cooking oil spray

  1. MsNaUnd
    December 30, 2014

    Nobody uses cooking oil spray in my part of the world…I wouldn’t know what to do with it. Is it for baking ?
    We use a brush when we want just a little amount of oil.

    • Na Na
      December 30, 2014

      Cooking oil spray takes the place of using a brush. Here in the states the spray comes in different flavors that you simply point and spray a pan. Some are made for spraying a baking pan and some are made for spraying a frying pan. The idea is the same as using a brush but here in the states many people are spoiled for convenience. For example instead of coating a baking pan with a little oil and a little flour to keep food from sticking there is a spray to do that work for you. Personally, I’m against high priced convenience which is why I blog about alternatives. The oil mister allows me to use whatever oil I want to fill it with, WITHOUT the high cost of buying cans of it. I am able to fill the mister with a little oil for a few pennies and save myself at least two and a half dollars each time. Where is your part of the world?

      • MsNaUnd
        January 13, 2015

        Switzerland (a tiny country in the middle of Europe)

        • Na Na
          January 13, 2015

          Ooo, beautiful country! I’ve only seen photos but what I have seen is beautiful.

          • MsNaUnd
            January 29, 2015

            Well, not all is beautiful. It is a highly industrialised country ! We don’t have huge natural landscapes as in the States, but we do have nice mountains. I am lucky and live near a big l ake (the Geneva lake). It is always amazing to see how its colour changes with the light. I love my lake and couldn’t live apart from it !

            • Na Na
              February 5, 2015

              It is the mountains and the lakes I see pictures of all the time. Isn’t Geneva lake the one with the big fork standing in it? First time I saw a photo of the fork I thought it was photo shopped into it. But I’ve seen other pictures since then.

  2. smallthingsgood
    November 30, 2014

    I had no idea, thanks!

    • Na Na
      December 1, 2014

      You are quite welcome. Glad you liked it.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,273 Hits
