Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Visitors followers and spam

Oh wow, it finally happened.  Sometime during the night my blog hits count finally out numbered the spam that Akismet caught.

I started writing my main (quilting) blog back in 2005.  Before that I wrote a blog on blogger starting in 2003.  I started writing this blog about two years ago.  For almost a year now I’ve had thoughts of closing down this blog because no one except the spammers seemed interested in what I had to say.  It was only in the last couple of months that I’ve had more than three followers.

Food etc 002

To be truthful some of the new followers scare the begeebees out of me.  I usually check the blogs of those who start following because I’m curious about them.  We might have things in common and eventually I’ll want to sign up as one of their followers.

When I’m looking at the blogs of new followers is when I realized there are some pretty weird people among the followers. A preacher in Romania, with 96,000 followers is reading MY blog?  I don’t think so.  A thirty five year old multi-millionaire world traveler living on a yacht and visiting with other millionaires is reading the frugal living blog of a little old lady in a ghetto?  I don’t think so. Someone from another country, who wrote only one blog post of their own over a year ago, saying he is willing to re post a blog for a small fee suddenly wants to follow my blog?  I don’t think so.

I do have several really nice followers and I’m thankful they’ve signed up.  It’s the followers that don’t make any sense to me that bother me.  You’re going to think I’m the one who is weird when I tell you that it feels as if my blog is being used as a backdoor communication device among foreigners.  Yeah, it even sounds weird to me.  When I read a comment that is marked as spam it reads as if I’m looking at someone else’s email.  There are conversations going on that have nothing at all to do with blogging or my blog or even frugal living for that matter.  I don’t have this problem with my main blog.  It gets very little spam on it.

You ever gotten one of those weird phone calls that has your own phone number listed in the caller ID and appears that you have called yourself?  Yeah?  Then you know those calls are phone spam and you know how spooky it feels. That’s what it feels like when I get weird followers who are communicating among themselves on my blog.

I’m not real smart when it comes to computers.  In my own defense I say I don’t want to be a mechanic to drive a car and I don’t want to be a technician to use a computer.  I just want to turn it on and start using it.  WordPress is never going to listen to me but if they changed the “follow” process just a little it might make a whole lot of us blog writers feel better. Simply add a “verify” system just like they have for comments.  The way that commentors must verify they are humans by typing a number or letters could be used to verify followers.  It would eliminate the robots from signing up wouldn’t it?  Oh well, it was just a thought.

I can’t stop the weird spam comments and I can’t stop the weird robot followers.  I’ll continue to write about frugal living and I like knowing I do have legitimate followers too.  Thank you to my followers.  I’m glad you are reading.

BTW, I’m adding the category “Pest control” to this blog post because the spammers are just pesky buggers who won’t go away.

9 comments on “Visitors followers and spam

  1. Amy
    April 30, 2015

    I am not a blogger, but I love your blog. Makes me miss my Mom solo much.

    • Amy
      April 30, 2015

      That should have read soooo much.

    • Na Na
      May 1, 2015

      Thank you Amy. Nice compliment.

  2. Jackie
    December 10, 2014

    I read your blog every so often, sometimes I have a great deal to catch up on but I am a real (well kind of) blogger….at least I have an up to date blog.

    God bless.

    • Na Na
      December 19, 2014

      Thank you.

  3. sarasinart
    December 8, 2014

    We all get some of what I like to call cling-ons; they follow a blog to get more of their own links out there. But many of my readers are real people, and real nice people, and you can tell who is really interested in what you’re writing. I’m a real people, and I enjoy reading what you write. 🙂

    • Na Na
      December 9, 2014

      Hee, hee, are you sure you don’t mean Klingons? You are right of course. Thank you.

  4. Opinionated Man
    December 8, 2014

    That post got a smile. There are “real” bloggers out here and we read what catches our eye. We don’t always comment, but we read. 🙂

    • Na Na
      December 9, 2014

      Thank you. Yes, I do the same thing.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2014 by in JUST THINKING, PEST CONTROL and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
