Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Commodity cheese

I know it isn’t January 2nd yet but I’m going to go ahead and start my 2015 food list.  Last week I got my senior commodities for December.  I had almost forgotten about getting them.

Food and kitchen 2015 002

I traded one box of cereal and one juice for the milk from someone else.  I plan to donate or give away everything except the milk, the pears, and the cheese.  The milk was stored away.  I used the cheese along with a couple of other ingredients.

Food and kitchen 2015 004To make pimento cheese.  Yum.

Food and kitchen 2015 001

I grated the whole 2 pound block of cheese, added a 7 ounce jar of pimentos, and enough mayonnaise to mix it all together.  That’s it.  This will be great used for grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch or as a snack on crackers.  It could be the topping for celery sticks or it could be added to some leftover chili to become a chili cheese dip. There are many recipe possibilities for the cheese and I’ll be showing some of those in later posts this year.

I’m including the senior commodities in my food bank food list because it’s free food too.

4 comments on “Commodity cheese

  1. MsNaUnd
    December 30, 2014

    Happy New Year !
    I’m a bit surprised you grated your cheese, but perhaps this is a different kind of cheese as the one we get here in Switzerland. With gruyère and parmesano, it is always best NOT to grate the cheese as it says better much longer if not grated. It’s the kind of food I stockpile and simply put in a glass tin in my fridge. (Cheese hates platic, it makes it perspire… and rot). I grate the amount I need each time I am using it and it lasts several weeks.

    • Na Na
      December 30, 2014

      The recipe called for grated cheese. The recipe is for a spreadable cheese that is good for sandwiches or for dipping. I made a two pound batch so I could have it handy for a quick sandwich when I don’t feel like cooking. I use plastic because I have it and it fits my tiny refrigerator.

  2. sarasinart
    December 29, 2014

    Happy New Year, and I hope it’s a good year for you!

    • Na Na
      December 30, 2014

      Happy new year to you too!

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
