Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Egg McMuffins

Last week I got English muffins from the mobile food bank.  I knew what I would do with those right away.  I had been hoping for English muffins to make egg muffins for the freezer.

Food and kitchen 2015 028As soon as I got home I started making them.  I had a dozen muffins so I cooked a dozen eggs.

Food and kitchen 2015 035I had some precooked bacon already in the freezer. I sliced some commodity cheese to go on them. Everything was ready.  Now to put them all together.  What the heck?  I opened the package and saw this.

Food and kitchen 2015 037Both packages were moldy.  Yuck!  I was not in the mood for penicillin muffins.  That’s the luck of the draw with food bank food.  Those of us who visit the mobile food pantry know this will happen because the food is “day old” or “not quite prime” and often it is very close to past the point of usable.  Heck, I’ve gotten moldy bread from the discount bin at the grocery so this is no big deal.

Well now what will I do with all those eggs, cheese, and bacon?  I pulled out my sandwich maker and a loaf of fresh bread then made this.

Food and kitchen 2015 040It really is not the same.  I was in a mood for egg muffins not egg sandwiches.  I ate these but put the rest of the eggs, cheese, and bacon into the freezer for another time.  Another mobile food bank delivery is just a few days away.  Hmm…. maybe I should make my own English muffins.  How hard can it be?  I’ve never made them before but I’m sure I can find a recipe for them someplace.

4 comments on “Egg McMuffins

  1. Denise
    January 12, 2015

    Do you pre-assemble the muffins with the ingredients and then freeze them? What do you find is the best way to reheat them?

    • Na Na
      January 12, 2015

      Yes, I usually pre-assemble and wrap individually before freezing. This time I just put everything into a container to freeze because I couldn’t use the English muffins.

      I reheat by putting into the microwave on 1/4 lb defrost. This heats them gently. When I had a toaster oven I thawed the muffins on the counter for about 15 minutes then into the oven on low for about 5 minutes. I really miss my toaster oven.

  2. sarasinart
    January 12, 2015

    That was a good idea, making the egg mcmuffins and then Plan B both. It’s always good to have a Plan B.

    • Na Na
      January 12, 2015

      I don’t always have a plan B. Lucky this day I came up with one.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
