Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Make do and mend bras

A friend was purging some of her over abundance of clothes.  I was gifted some bras that she had purchased and wore only once or twice.  I have no idea how much a bra costs because I haven’t bought any since before the “burn your bra” days of women’s lib so I don’t know how much these are worth.

The cup size is just right but she’s smaller around than me so the bras are too tight on me.

Make do and mend 2015 001

I decided to fix them to fit me better.  It’s simple enough.  I pulled out a bit of elastic I had saved from an old pair of pants no longer usable. The pants were cut apart and the fabric saved to use for other things. Yeah, I’m a bit of a hoarder.  I see value in just about everything.

Make do and mend 2015 003I removed the hook and eye part of the bra then cut a couple pieces of elastic in the length I needed.  Sew the new pieces of elastic to the bra and to the hook and eye sections creating extensions to the circumference of the bra.

Make do and mend 2015 004

Ta Da!  A nicer fitting bra.  Now if it had been different and the bra was too big for me, it’s a simple reverse process.  Remove the hook and eye parts to cut the circumference smaller then re-attach.  If you don’t know how to sew then you can use a liquid fabric glue or fabric glue tape to do the same job.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,140 Hits
