Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Food bank day

I’ve been sort of under the weather for three days.  Nothing really bad, just a slight cold that made me feel listless, and I’m feeling better.  This is what I got from the mobile food bank today.

Food and kitchen 2015 146

PRODUCE:

  • 1 bunch organic red kale – for supper
  • 3 pounds onions – storage
  • 6 roma tomatoes – salad for lunch
  • 6 sweet potatoes – storage
  • 6 granny smith apples – storage
  • 2 zucchini squash – salad for lunch
  • 2 yellow summer squash – salad for lunch

Food and kitchen 2015 145

BREADS:

  • 1 loaf wheat bread – kept, not day old
  • 1 pack hot dog buns – freezer, not day old
  • 1 pack English muffins – make freezer mc muffins – done

OTHER:

  • 6 individual servings ranch dressing – salad for lunch
  • 1 cranberry juice concentrate – give away

The kale was quite wilted but still good so I clipped the ends and put them into water.

Food and kitchen 2015 149Within 5 minutes they were all standing up like a bouquet of fresh cut flowers after a good drink of water.

Food and kitchen 2015 151

When I cook these the stems will be put in the freezer for a future veggie stock.  I have enough for a batch of stock already so I’ll be doing that soon.

2 comments on “Food bank day

  1. Amy
    May 1, 2015

    Squash salad? What is your recipe for that? I have been reading your blog-nonstop- for the last few days. I love it. Please keep this up. Thanks a bunch……….Amy from CO

    • Na Na
      May 3, 2015

      Squash salad is simply the squash thinly sliced and add a sauce or dressing or salt and pepper. Sort of like people eat cucumbers sliced and salted as a salad.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
