Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Food bank kale chips

Remember this?  The organic kale I got from the mobile food bank a couple of days ago.  I had planned to have them for supper.  I changed my plan.  I’ve heard so many raves about how good kale chips are and how easy they are to make.  I like eating greens so I figured why not give this a try.

Food and kitchen 2015 151I cleaned them, coated them with olive oil, sprinkled with my favorite spices, then dehydrated.  I got this.

Food and kitchen 2015 154Do I like them?  Not at all!  I think someone is yanking our chains and trying to convince us something is good when it’s not.  Food industry hype!  I do like greens and I do eat them as often as I am able to get them but not like this.  It was like chewing on a piece of spice coated paper.

Maybe it was just the wrong type of kale.  I had organic red kale.  It might taste different with another type like curly kale or something.  I might give it a try again at another time but not real soon.

While I had the dehydrator going I decided to make bread crumbs from the loaf of bread to fill up the trays.  I don’t want to waste the power.

Food and kitchen 2015 153I’m getting better about only preserving what is best for me… one person, instead of a whole neighborhood.

4 comments on “Food bank kale chips

  1. Jackie
    February 9, 2015

    Hi! I just wanted to say that I love your blog and all the info you share. We are five years away from retiring and are working at building our frugal muscles now. Your blog is such an encouragement! Thank you!

    • Na Na
      February 10, 2015

      Your welcome. Its nice to know I’m helping.

  2. Gaby
    February 6, 2015

    you really need to bake those until they’re crispy…I think that’s what people love about kale chips! I’ve made those a couple times and my husband (who is very picky) loved them.

    • Na Na
      February 7, 2015

      The dehydrator makes them crispy too.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 240,682 Hits
