Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

About this blog

This blog is written by me, a little old lady about living a frugal life, in a food desert, in the poorest part of a city.  Its a blog about being happy despite being forced by circumstances to live with less.  The title does say “Na Na pinches her pennies”.  My name is Anita but my grand daughter calls me Na Na.

This blog is primarily about how I make do with the scraps that life sometimes hands me. My neighbors call me the ghetto Martha Stewart because I’m always promoting DIY to them.  They affectionately tease me by saying I can do everything she does but for the poor instead of for the rich.  I like to share my make do and mend attitude with anyone who happens upon my blog.  I hear the news reports saying the economy is getting better but what I actually SEE is the financial gap between the have and the have not growing wider.

Energy diet 2014 002The cost of everything keeps going up and up.  One by one I’ve had to give up simple luxuries because the raises in cost have priced them right out of my budget. Instead of getting angry about my situation I simply find a way around it.

Often times when someone starts writing a blog they suddenly become an expert at whatever they choose to write about.  So let me tell ya’ I’m no more an expert at frugal living than anyone else my age.  I simply share what I know, what I remember, or what I’ve learned.  I have a vague belief what I write will help someone who is “newly poor” and searching for information to survive or perhaps a person reaching senior age soon to retire.

Organizing 2014 009I write about getting food bank food because it sure does stretch my food budget.  I do not get food stamps and sometimes there is too much month at the end of my money. Not many folks know what to do with the food bank food after they get it.  Which is why I write about using the food in many different ways just to give new ideas. I mean really, how many ways can you eat onions, carrots, or cabbage before you grow tired of looking at them day after day week after week?

Art ideas 2014 014

It might seem like this blog is only about food but that’s not true.  I fear we are in for some really rough times ahead of us now that the cost of gas is headed higher again and layoffs are happening all over the country once more.

If you go to the earlier posts on this blog you will see I also write about ways to save money on things like clothing or utilities or entertainment.  I write about my attempts to organize and rid my home of STUFF because being poor tends to make me a hoarder.

Food and kitchen 2014 180

If I figure out a new way to organize something cheaply, or find a new recipe for onions,  I’m gonna tell the whole world by blogging about it.  Geeze, I just can’t keep a secret.

I write mainly about DIY ways to save money because thats what I do myself.  I’m writing about it to encourage others to learn DIY too.

There are just as many reasons to write a blog as there are people writing them.  This one just happens to be one written about me living my frugal life.  You can read more on this subject by clicking the FYI read this link on the side of my blog.

3 comments on “About this blog

  1. Frugalwarrior2
    March 25, 2015

    And please keep writing those ideas. We are newly unemployed w/ zero income. We owed taxes this year. We dont qualify for for food stamps here because they count assets not unemployment. We cant get unemployment because hubby got a small severance they taxed at 40%. We are paying for COBRA and it costs $1600. a month,more than unemployment anyway. So I start cooking again and researching. Thanks for your blog. Its not just seniors. We went from 3 figures to nothing a month and a half ago.

    • Na Na
      March 26, 2015

      Thank you for sharing your circumstances with me. I believe there are alot of people with similar situations which is why I keep writing my blog. My voice is only one among many in situations like ours.

  2. sarasinart
    February 28, 2015

    And you give your readers very good info. Thanks for passing your experience on to others.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2015 by in FRUGAL SENIOR, JUST THINKING, MAKE DO AND MEND and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
