Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Quick fried potatoes

Do you sometimes wish you could have hash browns or fried potatoes but you feel there just isn’t enough time for preparing and cooking them? Well ok, you could go to the store and buy frozen potatoes that are quick and easy to cook.

Personally I don’t like the factory frozen potatoes with their artificial taste and chemical preservatives I can’t pronounce or spell.

Here is an alternative solution to those store bought frozen potatoes. Partially cook some potatoes then cut, or slice, or dice, or mash for however you plan to cook them later, and put them into the freezer.  Even a small fridge freezer can hold a couple of meals worth that  are ready to cook quickly.  Take potatoes out of the freezer and finish cooking to give them a fresh taste.  Partially cooking potatoes keeps them from turning dark when frozen.

Cooking potatoes quickly

Cooking potatoes for the freezer

There are several ways to pre-cook potatoes for the freezer.  Baking a bunch in the oven is one way.  Boiling is another.  I used the microwave to bake these potatoes to about three fourths done.  The microwave is the quickest way to bake a potato and uses very little electricity compared to a conventional stove.  Sometimes I will partially cook potatoes in the crockpot.  No water or anything, just potatoes.  I prepared these potatoes for early morning fried hash browns to go with an omelet.  Sometimes I shred the potatoes but this time I decided to cube them.

Homemade ready to heat and eat hash browns.

Homemade ready to heat and eat hash browns.

I plan to brown some onions to be put into the freezer too.  When I’m ready for quick early morning hash brown potatoes I’ll simply pop them in the pan to finish cooking.  This is my own version of fast food without the high cost.  There are many foods you can pre-cook or partially pre-cook to put into the freezer for quick meals.

3 comments on “Quick fried potatoes

  1. mjhenderson
    March 9, 2015

    Great ideas! I am a new retiree and I love your blog!

    • Na Na
      March 10, 2015

      Thank you and glad you’ve started reading my blog.

  2. sarasinart
    March 1, 2015

    Without the high cost, and also without all those chemicals and lots of sodium. What a great idea! You always have good ideas.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2015 by in FAST FOOD DIY, Freezing potatoes, HOW ITS MADE and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 214,109 Hits
