Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Look alike medication

I always worry I’ll make a mistake when taking my medications. The pills look so much alike that its hard to be sure which is which.

Cleaning and organizing 2015 039You see what I mean?  Three medications taken for three entirely different reasons.  The pill container on the left is for my diabetes.  I take two of those.  The pill container in the middle is for cholesterol.  I take one of those. The pill container on the right is for my heart condition. I take half of one of those.  If I were to make a mistake and take two whole tabs of the heart medication instead of the diabetes medication I could be in serious trouble.

A couple of years ago I came up with a solution to this problem.  I’ve posted about it before and I believe it worthy of repeating again.

Cleaning and organizing 2015 040As soon as I bring my prescriptions home I paint a different color stripe on each one using food coloring and a tiny paintbrush.  This helps me know one from the other.  Ok, ok, I know I should always read the label.  I do.  This simply gives me a little more feeling of security about taking my medications.  As we grow older Senior minds don’t always think correctly. I’ve formed a routine of looking to see I’m using the right color in the right dose.  If that routine changes it doesn’t feel right and alerts me to double check.  Maybe you could benefit from forming a routine like this too.

2 comments on “Look alike medication

  1. Jackie
    March 6, 2015

    Ha! Love how your mind works! Have a good weekend, Anita!

    • Na Na
      March 8, 2015

      Thanks and I am.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2015 by in FRUGAL SENIOR, JUST THINKING and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,312 Hits
