Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Disturbing signs

I went to pick up my senior commodities yesterday and was told it is no longer a government run program.  It’s now run by Dare To Care which hands out the mobile food bank food each week.  No wonder we have been getting potatoes, onions, and carrots from Dare To Care the last couple of months.

We were asked to fill out a survey and had to put our names on it. I believe surveys should be anonymous if you want truthful answers.

Food and kitchen 2015 161

Yesterday I also read a news report about the published Republican budget proposal which drastically cuts the medicare and food stamp programs for seniors.  I fear that perhaps I have just seen the end of the senior commodity food program and the beginning of privatizing of food programs for the elderly and low incomed.

A couple of months ago I received some cans of chili beans with a Dare To Care label on them.  I would take a picture of those but I gave that food away. I remember at that time I thought it was a great idea for DTC to preserve the extra of the donated foods.  I do it all the time myself and thats what this blog is all about.  I was even cheering at a rumor of DTC opening a new cannery center in our area to preserve the donated produce.  So far it seems to be just a rumor though.

Food and kitchen 2015 162

I believe DTC is a wonderful hunger prevention program.  DTC gathers unwanted food by a second harvest and distributes it to those in need.  DTC gathers food from stores before being tossed into dumpsters and distributes that too.  The addition of a canning center would be great IF it was a home canning center where the recipients of food could go to can for themselves and not a food processing plant.

It would be soooo nice to know there was a place equipped with institutional sized home canning equipment.  A center with pea shellers, green bean slicers, meat grinders, fruit juicers, vegetable choppers, potato peelers, apple presses, large canners, dehydrators, and all kinds of quick prepping equipment for home canning.  You get the idea.  Ok, so I’m dreaming.  As far as I know the opening of a cannery here in this area is just a rumor.  I can continue to hope and dream while I do my own canning at home.

Food and kitchen 2015 168

Today I’m canning dry beans using the no soak method.  After that I’m going to make some juice jello with the apple juice I got this month. Next week I really should do something to preserve the potatoes and onions. Maybe onion jam or onion soup to can?  Possibly.

2 comments on “Disturbing signs

  1. Nathalie
    March 21, 2015

    Hi Na Na, just popping in to tell you that I made some of your apple syrup a couple of weeks ago, but I haven’t tasted it yet. I didn’t have a lot of apples so it only made about 4 oz, but I loved the idea of making something out of the apple remnants so thanks for the idea.

    I was reading a British blog today (from a senior citizen too) and came across a blog post that reminded me of you. I think you’ll enjoy it: http://weansfrugalworld.blogspot.com/2013/09/they-didnt-have-green-thing-back-in.html

    Anyhoo, am I understanding your post correctly that you’ll still be getting those “commodities” but it’ll now be coming from a Second Harvest-affiliated source instead of the government? I think Second Harvest is a great idea. I know that Walt Disney World (where I used to work) gives all of their leftover/unused foods to Second Harvest so it can get re-distributed here in Central Florida.

    • Na Na
      March 22, 2015

      Yes, you are right, its now run by a Second Harvest affiliate. I’m thinking it will mean we don’t get the same foods anymore and what we get will be dependant on the donations to the organization. I’m worried we won’t be getting the milk or cheese as before. I would miss those alot! Thank you for the link. I enjoyed reading it.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 240,682 Hits
