Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

The beans and carrots are done

I did finish canning the beans I talked about in my last post.  I used the dry canning method which means no soaking or pre-cooking. I believe all beans require one and one half hours in the pressure canner regardless of type.  Well at least all the beans I use do.  So, for a change and to be different from everyone else, instead of having all the jars with the same kind of beans I did two jars of five different types.  My pressure canner holds 10 pint jars. Now I have a variety instead of doing only one type at a time.

Food and kitchen 2015 174

I have two jars of black, pinto, kidney, navy, and butter beans. I plan to do another batch in a day or two for my daughter and my SIL.

After that was done I decided to put the commodity carrots in the freezer.  I don’t have time for canning them right away but I don’t want to loose them either.  I have plans to use them in a soup or a stew for canning in a few days.  I never got around to making the apple juice jello.

Food and kitchen 2015 175

About this time of year many people start thinking about canning season.  Spring means garden time which then means preserving the bounty.

I haven’t been to the mobile food bank line for quite awhile.  Deep snow and really cold weather kept me away.  I won’t be getting any of the food until after school is out.  I’ve been getting Ladybug from the school bus in another part of the city which is at the same time as the mobile food bank.  I can’t be in two places at once so I’m not getting the food.  No one is allowed to pick up food for someone else.  I’m missing it but I won’t starve.  I have plenty of canned food in storage.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 243,603 Hits
