Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Fresh butter deserves fresh bread

Last month, before Valentine Day, I came across a bargain on whipping cream and couldn’t resist getting it.  Whipping cream for .27 cents a pint.

Food and kitchen 2015 177I kept them in the fridge until yesterday.  Two of the containers said use by 2-14-15 and three said use by 3-18-15.   Can you see the date? Clicking on the photo should make it larger.

Food and kitchen 2015 189Being the thrifty person I am, these cannot go to waste.  I don’t like wasting money, even if it’s only $1.35.  So I made butter.  The cream being outdated does not affect the quality of the butter.

Food and kitchen 2015 182I moved the butter to a washing bowl.  Save the buttermilk! Fresh butter must be washed (in a manner of speaking) with clean water. What you do is smoosh it with a flat wooden paddle or a spatula if you don’t have the paddle.  Smoosh it, smoosh it, smoosh it, against the side of the bowl getting the water all through the butter.  Water removes the rest of the buttermilk.  If left inside the butter it could make it mold.  We don’t want that.  Change the water (cold) several times until it remains clear after lots of smooshing.

Food and kitchen 2015 186Of course when you make butter you’re going to get buttermilk. Buttermilk is what remains after the milk fat has changed into butter. This buttermilk is nothing at all like what you find in stores.

Food and kitchen 2015 184I got three pints of buttermilk from this batch.  Two will go into the freezer for later and one was used to make a loaf of whole wheat sandwich bread………

Food and kitchen 2015 185because every new batch of fresh butter deserves a fresh loaf of bread.  Yum!

Food and kitchen 2015 187A little bit of apple syrup is good too.  Now that I think about it, a small glass of buttermilk would go nicely with fresh bread and butter.  Ok, so that no one thinks I’m overdoing it on bread with my diabetes I cut the bread into 1/4 inch slices.  I ate two pieces which is the equivalent of one slice of store bread.  I used two teaspoons of butter and 1 teaspoon of syrup.  This was my afternoon snack.

Food and kitchen 2015 193I’m keeping two slices of the bread for tomorrow’s lunch and the rest will be frozen.  My butter turned out to be about two pounds or a little more.  I’m guessing.

Food and kitchen 2015 197That would probably be a savings of about $10?  I’m don’t know how much organic butter is selling per pound these days but regular butter is between $3.99 and $4.80 at Meijer depending on the brand.  I think it’s cheaper at Kroger.

4 comments on “Fresh butter deserves fresh bread

  1. Nathalie
    March 23, 2015

    Wow, that was a great deal! I don’t go by expiration dates either. Organic butter has been over $6/lb for a while down here in Florida. All our dairy products are usually more expensive down here than up North, there’s always a visiting Northerner at our local Aldi exclaiming very loudly about “how expensive milk is down here. we pay only $1.99 a gallon back home in Cincinnatti!”. Arrgh, we know, why don’t you go back up North since it’s so much cheaper up there… that’s be one fewer clueless tourist on the roads and one less cart cluttering the Aldi aisle… LOL. Sorry, I’m feeling a little cranky today!

    Thanks for the instructions on making butter. I really ought to get a better food processor with those big whisks and paddles, but that kind wouldn’t fit under my cabinet. Did you freeze the butter as well?

    • Na Na
      March 23, 2015

      Yes, I did freeze it. You don’t absolutely NEED a mixer. Butter was made long before modern appliances were invented. Use a simple jar, shake, shake, shake till you see butter or use a wire whisk or a hand mixer. When I was younger I used one of those shaker bottles with the plastic thing inside for mixing smoothies at work. It made butter just fine. Use whatever technique you would use to make whipped cream then keep going till you get butter.

  2. sarasinart
    March 23, 2015

    Wow, you did a good job with this and explained it to us well!

    • Na Na
      March 23, 2015

      Give it a try sometime, I think you will like it.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 243,603 Hits
