Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Many thanks

Thank you to everyone who helped about the photos.  I needed to know I wasn’t wasting my time transferring photos if no one could see them.

Art ideas 2014 009

I plan to rewrite some of the food posts that are currently on my quilt blog. I no longer have the photos on my computer so I’ll be transfering pictures from that blog to this one.  I don’t want a repeat of the disaster I had back in 2012 when I switched from blogger to wordpress and lost almost all of my photos.

Again, thank you for the help.

2 comments on “Many thanks

  1. Nathalie
    March 24, 2015

    Good luck! That’s one of the reasons why I like having a blog (well, I also have several others that are set to private because they’re more like online diaries for my eyes only). Several years ago the external drive where I kept my digital pictures so as to not burden my laptop crashed to the ground and I lost over 1 year of photos. I was able to download some of them from my blogs though, so not all was lost. (I kept the hard drive in case one day someone can figure out how to access it – I’m hoping one of my kids will be technically savvy enough) and recover my photos. I’m too cheap to send away for it!

    However, Blogger messed up when they first linked my profile with Google + (without my consent!) and consequently the main blog that I was keeping at the time lost all of the pictures I had posted. The pictures are still in Picasa albums (although not organized, just saved there at random by Google so it’s hard to figure out what was what and when they were taken as I don’t change the name of the picture usually, just save them in dated folders on my own devices), but they won’t show on the blog, no matter what I do and indeed I read on their forum that there isn’t a way to fix it. They changed the coding of the photos’ referral link or something rather when they changed things behind the scene and that’s permanent. Blogger is free and I’m used to it so I’m not likely to change platforms, but I really dislike it. I ended up abandoning the blog. It’s really annoying since I like going back and re-reading my entries, which obviously were illustrated by the many pictures I had posted, and without the pictures, it’s almost pointless. Now I’ve read that they’ll be splitting up Google + but it’s too late to undo the damage they caused to my old blog.

    I spent a lot of time last year recreating most of it in Powerpoint (since it’s a diary for me and maybe one day for my kids, not for the general public) and got an external drive that automatically back-ups my documents via wi-fi, so it doesn’t need to be moved and hopefully won’t crash. And because I’m terrified of losing all my pictures on that drive too, I recently got another external drive to back-up the external drive! It’s madness. Makes me wish I just printed all the darn digital photos. Instead, I’m scanning all of my non-digital pictures because my oldest son wishes to have them all electronically! It’s very very slow going.

    Sorry for the rambling comment. I don’t read your quilting blog so it’ll be interesting to read your new “old” posts!

    • Na Na
      March 24, 2015

      My blogging started in 2004 or maybe 2003 as a way of NOT repeating myself a thousand times in emails. I got questions from quilt customers or other quilters which seemed to be the same questions over and over and over again. When I started blogging I could refer them to the blog for answers instead of rewriting an email.

      I have some photos in Picasa albums too. I don’t use picasa anymore but I leave the photos there just to look at now and then. I don’t mind losing some photos of everyday things. It’s the instructional photos I hated loosing. Some of those were for how to do things that I no longer do myself but someone else might want to learn.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2015 by in JUST THINKING.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
