Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Awww Gee Whiz

(originally posted June 2, 2013 on my main blog)

In a poverty area, like where I live, there is often a problem with rats or mice.  No matter how clean a house is kept the mice and rats will come exploring.  We have too many abandoned houses with food left in them when the occupants move.  We have too many homeless people sleeping in those abandoned houses and they also leave food behind.   Foods left behind causes the rats and mice to breed faster.   The houses themselves make great nesting areas. Especially inside old couches, mattresses, and the insulation.

I keep boxes of poison all around my house because I simply can’t tolerate those creatures in my house.  Quilting creates a lot of dust so every now and then, as I’m cleaning the floor, I check all the boxes of poison to see if there has been any activity and whether a box needs replacing.  Sometimes I find a dead rat or mouse nearby but most of the time they go under my house to die, rot, and stink.  Then they become food for the meat eating ants that nest under houses too.

This time I had to look twice to be sure I saw what I saw.  I even turned on the lights for a better view.  Aw gee whiz, I killed a dust bunny.   See the fluffy tail instead of a long tail?  That’s how you know the difference.

FOODS 2013 074

I first saw the dead dust bunny in dark shadowed light because the overhead lights hadn’t been turned on yet.  It certainly looks like a mouse doesn’t it?  I even turned it over to check if it was a mouse or a dust bunny and whether he or she was really dead.  See the tiny back legs extended out?

FOODS 2013 075

Well, I guess that’s one way of getting rid of the dust bunnies.  They tend to breed faster than the rats and mice in this area.

One comment on “Awww Gee Whiz

  1. Dorothy cripplewing
    August 20, 2015

    ha ha that’s a good one….I love it

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2015 by in CLEANING, HUMOR and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
