Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Apples

There are times when I have nothing really new to post about.  Life is a series of repeats and school spring vacations.  I’ve also returned to machine quilting which means less time in the kitchen and less time on the computer.  I’m not doing as much quilting as before but enough to satisfy my need to be creative.

A couple weeks ago I got apples.  Lots of apples.  I had bought sale apples on my last shopping trip.

Food and kitchen 2015 216

Then a neighbor gave me some apples.

Food and kitchen 2015 218

Then when I went to get my prescriptions I found apples in the discount bin.

Food and kitchen 2015 222

The mobile food bank gave me apples.

Food and kitchen 2015 219

That was a lot of apples and only two had bad spots.  I made applesauce.  I got 15 pints from those apples.

Food and kitchen 2015 225

I didn’t need any syrup or juice so wild birds got the peelings.  There were some really happy birds that afternoon.

4 comments on “Apples

  1. theepowerofgood
    May 12, 2015

    Umm, I’ve taken a twisted path to this post – I was looking for something to do with all the watermelon I have around me, found your post about watermelon jam and kept reading.

    I enjoyed this post about apples, I haven’t had an apple in a year, I miss apples… I should mention that I’m an Irish/Australian expat living in Sai Gon, Viet Nam, which should explain my apple shortage. Plenty of pineapples though!

    Did you know that Vietnamese people also dry out grapefruit (actually they are Pomelos, but they are very similar) skins for desserts too? They make a soup from watermelon rind too. Vietnamese cuisine uses everything; nothing is wasted and it is very delicious.

    My elements of my work involves people living in extreme poverty, and I see the same ingenuity they use to feed themselves and their families as you use to feed yours. People with full bellies are winners, after all!

    Anyway, good luck with all your food prep and quilting!

    • Na Na
      May 14, 2015

      Thank you for stopping by. Good luck there too. I don’t know much about the people of Viet Nam but I like knowing they are very frugal.

  2. Jackie
    April 13, 2015

    You are such an inspiration to me! Unfortunately, poor health prevents me from doing all I want to, but you spur me on to do what I can! Thank you for sharing your life.

    • Na Na
      April 14, 2015

      Yes, its that way for me too. I move much slower these days.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,273 Hits
