Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Make do

When things happen I often have to “make do” with what is available simply because I’m not prepared to pay a repair bill.  Here is an example.  This is a shower towel bar that broke in half.  Its plastic and about 35 years old.

Food and kitchen 2015 004

It goes here.  As you can see the ends are fixed into the tile work. No way to put the bar back if its glued together.

Cleaning and organizing 2015 006

I needed a solution because I simply can’t afford to pay a tile person to replace a towel bar right now.  If that person doesn’t know what they are doing it could cost me a lot more than a simple repair. Anyhow, I looked through my STUFF and found a temporary solution.

Cleaning and organizing 2015 007

A curtain tension rod will work for now.  It doesn’t have to be strong.  Just functional.  How heavy can a washcloth be?

Food and kitchen 2015 005

As long as I don’t try using the rod for a handhold it should be good.

2 comments on “Make do

  1. sarasinart
    April 18, 2015

    That was a very smart idea!

    • Na Na
      April 18, 2015

      Thanks.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,605 Hits
