Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Birds won’t eat it

I sometimes put out stale bread bits for the birds to eat.  I haven’t baked a loaf of bread for three or four weeks so this past week I picked up a package of discounted hamburger buns to give the birds.  The birds won’t eat it.  These bread bits have been there for three days.

Side yard 2015 004

A few weeks ago I was reading someone’s homestead blog.  They had written about tomatoes and cucumbers given to their chickens. The chickens wouldn’t eat them.

A couple of years ago I wrote about a neighbor kid dropping chicken nuggets near my porch and the meat eating ants wouldn’t touch them.

So do the animals know something we don’t know?

Do you know this story?  If you drop a frog into boiling water it will immediately jump out.  But, if you put the frog into cold water and gradually heat the water to boiling the frog will simply sit there and cook to death.  The frog doesn’t notice the gradual change.

Is it possible something is happening to our food supply so slowly that we don’t notice the change but the animals do?

Ok, enough with the conspiracy thoughts.  I’m scaring myself.  I’m gonna go can something or quilt something.

5 comments on “Birds won’t eat it

  1. sarasinart
    April 19, 2015

    I think you make a good point. Things are happening that we might not be aware of, and it is scary.

    • Na Na
      April 20, 2015

      You feel it too?

      • sarasinart
        April 20, 2015

        Oh yea. Things are changing, too many things. I often say I’m glad to be old.

        • Na Na
          April 20, 2015

          Don’t be too glad to be old. Being old means you become a victim of everything from medicare to the kid down the street. If you were young you would be oblivious the changes because you wouldn’t know about the better past.

          • sarasinart
            April 20, 2015

            The better past…..you got that right.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2015 by in ECONOMIC OBSERVATIONS, JUST THINKING, SHORT SIZING TRICKS and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 270,273 Hits
