Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living)

Shh… don't tell anyone I'm poor. They all think I'm living frugal and green just like everyone these days. This is a blog about a senior citizen living a frugal life, on a fixed income, in a low income food desert, and passing along knowledge from lessons learned. Some she learned from her Grandma Mama many years ago and some learned only a few days ago.

Being poor can be so frustrating

Na Na, can I come to your house?  I want to hold you.  (she needs a hug)  What’s wrong Ladybug?  I’m having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.  Tell your Mama to bring you here. Na Na will hold you alot and then you can spend the night.

Mom 2015 008

Thats how I was feeling yesterday.  Nothing seemed to be going right and I needed a hug.  Most of my frustration revolves around money.  The lack of money.

My Medicare Part D insurance informed me after four months, oops we made a mistake, your meds are not covered, please send us a check right away for the full amount of your medication.  Yeah right.  Like I have an extra couple of thousand laying around doing nothing!  (money)

The design I’m doing on a quilt was not working simply because the piece of plastic I was using as a ruler needed replacing and there is no money in my budget for it.  I took out my frustration by blaming the design instead of myself and the equipment.  (money)

Quilts - Gordon 005

I found out every outfit my family bought for my mother at Christmas has disappeared and I never saw her wear any of them.  I guess the thief doesn’t care if a name is written inside. Now I need to replace her clothes…… again.  Geeze, I haven’t bought myself any brand new clothes in years but buy her new ones almost every month.  I try to buy used from thrift stores but usually can’t find any in her 3x size.  (money)

Mom 2015 001

I saw things around my house that desperately need fixing before a major disaster happens.  (money)

Side yard 2015 010

There are other things too but I’ll spare you from lots of small details.  (even more money)

These are all things that “must” be taken care of right away.  Yeah right.  I’ll just get out my billionaire debit card and take care of everything today.  Seriously though, what can a person with no money do? Not a darned thing.  Simply telling me to buy something or pay something does NOT put money in my bank account.

Everyone who tells me I need to buy something or pay something wants it done RIGHT NOW.  As a person living in poverty I’ve learned to tune them out.  Sort of the way a mother tunes out tantrum throwing children.  Of course we can’t ignore the screaming child forever but we don’t let them tell us what to do and when.

I hear people (politicians and others) talk about the way people in poverty sell food stamps and how wrong it is to do.  I don’t get food stamps but if I did this would be a time to be tempted to sell them for the cash.  Cash that could be used to buy clothes for mom or to pay the bill from the insurance company or to repair the broken porch post.  Don’t be so quick to judge those who live in poverty. Someday it could be you who is the one living in poverty and tempted to sell your food stamps.

Well, time to get off the computer and deal with a couple of issues. I’ll post about them as I do.

4 comments on “Being poor can be so frustrating

  1. danLrene ©2011
    May 18, 2015

    Na Na, there is a program here, I hope there where you are too, that comes and helps fix things on your house. They put in my handicap bathroom and ramp for me..no money. I don’t know the name but you might check. We also in our state have a weatherization program and they came and sprayed in insulation in my house.

    • Na Na
      May 20, 2015

      Thank you and yes I do know about those programs. The word gets spreads very quickly when you are standing in a food line. I’ve had everything done that I qualified for.

  2. Nathalie
    April 24, 2015

    I’m so sorry. Medicare has a lot of nerve to make a mistake and then demand that you refund them! And what are you going to do for your medications now? Is your doctor switching you to another brand that is covered?
    And a pox on whoever is taking advantage of your mom by stealing her clothes. Is she in a living facility? Can you complain to management and get law enforcement involved? I think that every state has stricter “rules” against senior abuse/scamming than against non-senior people, but I’m not sure.
    Of course this all means more work and headaches than you should have to deal with.
    As far as the repairs on your house, is there a way for you to contact the Habitat for Humanity or maybe a church group or Boy Scout group? I always read about church groups repairing houses for senior citizens (and doing things such as mowing their lawns or painting their houses) or teens doing such projects to earn their Eagle Scout badges. It might be worth looking into it.
    I can’t remember if I ever read why you don’t get food stamps. Do you not qualify for them? If you do, you should really take advantage of them. It seems to me that you’re the kind of person who definitely needs them and even though you do get food from the other programs you have talked about, maybe this would free up some much needed dollars that you might still be spending on foodstuff not covered by the food donations you receive?
    Sorry if this isn’t helpful, that’s what came to the top of my mind. Correct me if I’m wrong but I seem to recall you were in Louisville, KY? If so, you’re probably already aware of this but there is a website for senior resources in your area. They might be able to lend some help or guidance? http://louisvilleky.gov/government/community-services/senior-services
    (((hugs)))

    • Na Na
      April 25, 2015

      Nathalie, I appreciate the cyber hugs. Please don’t worry about me. I don’t let situations like this bother me for very long. I handle things in my own time, not someone else’s. The whole purpose of my blog is to show ways I handle being poor. I do sometimes get stressed but a hug or two makes things so much better. Ladybug is always willing to hug her Na Na.

      I don’t get food stamps because my social security is about 20 dollars too much to qualify. Even back when I did qualify I got only ten dollars a month.

      It was not Medicare but the Medicare “Part D” insurance company that says it made a mistake. I’m working on that. I’ll write a post about it.

      Nursing homes are all the same. Clothes turn up missing all the time. Complaining doesn’t do one bit of good. I’ll be writing a post about that too.

      I’ve lived my whole life as poor. I write about being poor so I can help those who are “newly poor” learn to survive. Especially seniors who for whatever reason suddenly find themselves with limited funds. I’m always on the lookout for news of any program or service that helps people in the ghetto. I’ll write a post about the house in a few days.

      I hope this eases your worries about me? I’m a survivor. Too bad there isn’t a tv show about seniors surviving in the ghetto. I’d be a star.

      One day at a time. Life is lived one day at a time. Situations take care of themselves one day at a time too.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

Follow Na Na pinches her pennies (aka frugal living) on WordPress.com

Down memory lane

Visitors since 7-1-2013

  • 213,190 Hits
